NBC just announced that The West Wing will conclude its run on Sunday, May 14, after seven seasons with an hour-long retrospective (7-8 p.m. ET) followed by a special series finale (8-9 p.m. ET). "We are proud to have had the opportunity to bring television viewers one of the most acclaimed series in television history," said Kevin Reilly, President, NBC Entertainment. "From the venerable, moving performances by the first-rate cast to the sterling creative team behind the camera, this series has left an indelible imprint on the landscape of television drama."

“The West Wing” has offers viewers a realistic, behind-the-scenes peek into the Oval Office and the campaign trail that leads there. The one-hour drama series stars Martin Sheen, the late John Spencer, Bradley Whitford, Richard Schiff, Allison Janney, Jimmy Smits, Alan Alda, Dule Hill, Janel Moloney, Stockard Channing, Joshua Malina, Kristin Chenoweth and Mary McCormack.

At the core of the current 2005-06 season is the campaign between Democratic nominee Santos (Jimmy Smits) and Republican challenger Vinick (Alan Alda) for the Presidency. President Bartlet (Sheen) and his team find themselves leading the country with the administration's days coming to a close.