The Mars Volta's fifth studio album, "Octahedron", will be released June 23 by Warner Bros. Records. The record will be preceded by its first single, "Since We've Been Wrong."

"Octahedron" follows up last year's The Bedlam In Goliath, which featured "Wax Simulacra," the track that took "Best Hard Rock Performance" honors at the recent 51st Annual Grammy Awards.

"Octahedron" was written by The Mars Volta - Omar Rodriguez Lopez (music, arrangements, direction) and Cedric Bixler Zavala (vocals, lyrics)--and performed by The Mars Volta group: Marcel Rodriguez Lopez, Thomas Pridgen, John Frusciante, Isaiah Ikey Owens, Juan Alderete de la Pena, Cedric Bixler Zavala and Omar Rodriguez Lopez.

Hailed by The New Yorker as "perhaps the most musically adventurous act currently signed to a major label," The Mars Volta formed in 2001. The band's recorded output includes the 2003 debut full length De-Loused In The Comatorium, as well as Frances The Mute (2005), Amputechture (2006) and the previously mentioned "The Bedlam In Goliath" (2008).

See also: Mars Volta's New Album Spooked By Evil Vibes

Image © Universal Records

Click here to follow @Starpulse on Twitter!