After winning five Tonys earlier this year-including honors for Best Play--The History Boys is set to conquer the big screen this November with Fox Searchlight's film adaptation of the Broadway phenomenon.

Rhino Records brings together the film's biggest musical moments with a soundtrack that features classic alternative rock cuts from the '80s, cast recordings, and more. The History Boys Original Soundtrack will be available November 21.

Featuring 14 songs, the film's soundtrack helps evoke the story's setting in 1980s England with songs such as The Smiths' "This Charming Man," New Order's "Blue Monday," The Clash's "Mustapha Dance," The Cure's "A Forest," and more. The album also includes the cast's unforgettable send-up of "Bye Bye Blackbird" along with performances of "L'Accordeoniste" and "Bewitched" by cast members Samuel Barnett and Richard Sission. In addition, the soundtrack contains a cover of "Bewitched" that Rufus Wainwright recorded exclusively for the film.

The History Boys tells the story of an unruly class of bright, funny history students in pursuit of an undergraduate place at Oxford or Cambridge. Bounced between their maverick English master (Richard Griffiths), a young and shrewd teacher hired to up their test scores (Stephen Campbell Moore), a grossly out-numbered history teacher (Frances de la Tour), and a headmaster obsessed with results (Clive Merrison), the boys attempt to sift through it all to pass the daunting university admissions process. Their journey becomes as much about how education works, as it is about where education leads.

The big screen adaptation of the five time Tony award-winning play of the same name, The History Boys utilizes the same talent that originally brought the production to the stage. It is directed by Nicholas Hytner from a script adapted for the screen by the playwright Alan Bennett. The stage version premiered to the world in London's prestigious National Theatre in 2004, winning audience and critical acclaim alike including Laurence Olivier Awards for Best New Play, Best Director (Nicholas Hytner) and Best Actor (Richard Griffiths), as well as Evening Standard and Critics Circle Awards for Best Play. The production will premiere on Broadway in the spring of 2006.

The key cast of the film remains the same as the original stage version led by Richard Griffiths, Clive Merrison, Frances de la Tour, Stephen Campbell Moore, Sacha Dhawan, Samuel Anderson, Dominic Cooper, Andrew Knott, Samuel Barnett, Russell Tovey, Jamie Parker and James Corden. TThe History Boys is produced by Kevin Loader (Enduring Love, Captain Corelli's Mandolin), Damian Jones (Millions, Welcome To Sarajevo) and Nicholas Hytner.

A distinguished British screenwriter, playwright and actor, Alan Bennett recently won his fourth Olivier Award for Best New Play for The History Boys. Previously he won two Oliviers for Talking Heads in 1992 and one for Single Spies in 1989. In addition to being nominated for an Oscar, a BAFTA Award and a Writers Guild of America Award for the feature film The Madness Of King George, Bennett won a Writers Guild of Great Britain Award.

He has been nominated for eight BAFTA TV Awards and won one for "A Question of Attribution," and received three BAFTA Film nominations. Bennett began his career as an actor and writer for the "Beyond the Fringe" comedy troupe, which also included Dudley Moore, Peter Cook, and Jonathan Miller.

Nicholas Hytner won a BAFTA Award for Best British Film for The Madness Of King George. He earned both a Tony and an Olivier Award for his direction of Carousel and an Olivier Award for The History Boys. He was awarded the 1989 London Evening Standard Theatre Award and London Critics Circle Theatre Award for Best Director for Miss Saigon and Ghetto. Hytner's feature film directorial credits also include The Object Of My Affection and The Crucible. Hytner is Artistic Director of London's National Theatre. The movie is set to debut in New York and Los Angeles on November 21 and will be released wide in the following weeks.

The History Boys Original Soundtrack Track Listing:
1. Gracie Fields - "Wish Me Luck (As You Wave Me Goodbye)"
2. New Order - "Blue Monday"
3. The Smiths - "This Charming Man" (New York Vocal)
4. Samuel Barnett & Richard Sission - "L'Accordeoniste"
5. The Clash - "Mustapha Dance"
6. Samuel Barnett & Richard Sission - "Bewitched"
7. Echo & The Bunnymen - "Never Stop" (Discotheque Version)
8. The Cure - "A Forest"
9. Pigbag - "Papa's Got A Brand New Pigbag" (12" Remix)
10. The History Boys & Richard Sission - "Bye Bye Blackbird"
11. Rufus Wainwright - "Bewitched"
12. The English Beat - "Can't Get Used To Losing You"
13. Aztec Camera - "Walk Out To Winter"
14. The Pretenders - "2000 Miles"

Party Player | Real Audio | Windows High | Windows Lo

(Streaming audio and/or video links may expire without notice)