Acoustic or electric, solo or side project; Jerry Garcia was prolific during his breaks from the Grateful Dead. Between 1972 and 1982, Garcia recorded five historic studio albums and jammed with a revolving cast of musicians in the Jerry Garcia Band. Rhino/J. Garcia Records salute the rich talents of an incomparable music icon with the first-ever compilation spotlighting Garcia's solo work. Highlights from his five solo studio records provide the foundation of the first disc, while the second disc serves as a comprehensive compilation of seminal solo performances dating from the early '70s all the way into the '90s. The Very Best Of Jerry Garcia will be available September 26 at all retail outlets, at, and at

Featuring remastered versions of studio tracks, the first disc pulls 16 key songs from all of Garcia's solo albums - Garcia, Compliments, Reflections, Cats Under The Stars and Run For The Roses. The second disc contains ten live gems from performances by a range of Jerry Garcia Band lineups including an unreleased cover of The Beatles' "Dear Prudence" performed by Reconstruction, a short-lived but noteworthy R&B/jazz group fronted by Garcia.

Arranged chronologically, "The Very Best Of Jerry Garcia" spotlights five songs written by Garcia and Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter that originally appeared on Garcia's debut: "Deal," "Bird Song," "Sugaree," "Loser" and "The Wheel." The first disc also features multiple tracks from Garcia's other four solo albums, including an eclectic mix of covers including Allen Toussaint's "I'll Take A Melody," Chuck Berry's "Let It Rock," Irving Berlin's "Russian Lullaby," Bob Dylan's "Knockin' On Heaven's Door," and Clyde McPhatter's "Without Love."

The second disc of live recordings opens with "Catfish John," a track Garcia and longtime collaborators Vassar Clements, David Grisman, John Kahn, and Peter Rowan recorded in 1973 under the moniker Old & In The Way. The Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band is featured on a pair of 1987 recordings: "Deep Elem Blues" and "Ripple." The majority of the disc is dedicated to the Jerry Garcia Band, which is spotlighted on half-a-dozen tracks including "Deal" from 1980, "Gomorrah" from 1990 as well as covers of Jimmy Cliff's "The Harder They Come" (1977) and Los Lobos' "Evangeline" (1990), and a pair of Dylan covers - "Positively 4th Street" and "Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)."

Track Listing

Disc 1
1. "Deal"
2. "Bird Song"
3. "Sugaree"
4. "Loser"
5. "The Wheel"
6. "Let It Rock"
7. "Russian Lullaby"
8. "Might As Well"
9. "Mission In The Rain"
10. "I'll Take A Melody"
11. "Rubin And Cherise" - Jerry Garcia Band
12. "Cats Under The Stars" - Jerry Garcia Band
13. "Rhapsody In Red" - Jerry Garcia Band
14. "Run For The Roses"
15. "Knockin' On Heaven's Door"
16. "Without Love"

Disc 2: Live Recordings
1. "Catfish John" (Live, 1973) - Old & In The Way
2. "Deep Elem Blues" (Live, 1987) - Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band
3. "Ripple" (Live, 1987) - Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band
4. "Positively 4th Street" (Live, 1975) - Jerry Garcia Band
5. "The Harder They Come" (Live, 1977) - Jerry Garcia Band
6. "Gomorrah" (Live, 1990) - Jerry Garcia Band
7. "Dear Prudence" (Live, 1979) - Reconstruction *
8. "Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)" (Live, 1990) - Jerry Garcia Band
9. "Evangeline" (Live, 1990) - Jerry Garcia Band
10. "Deal" (Live, 1980) - Jerry Garcia Band

Check out Jerry's prolific discography HERE.
More on The Dead HERE.

Listening Party (stream all the songs):

Party Player | Real Audio | Windows Lo | Windows Hi