Easy Star Records is following up its hugely successful 2003 release 'Dub Side of the Moon' (a reggae tribute to Pink Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon') with a full-on reggae treatment of Radiohead's 'OK Computer.' An ambitious project two years in the making, 'Radiodread: A Complete Reggae Version of Radiohead's OK Computer' will be released August 22. 'Dub Side of the Moon' has spent three years on Billboard's Reggae chart.

'Radiodread' features an impressive array of reggae stars supplying vocals to the Easy Star All- Stars' backing tracks. Reggae pioneers Toots and the Maytals make their Easy Star debut, singing a driving version of "Let Down" while Citizen Cope's distinctive voice fuels the haunting "Karma Police." Horace Andy ("Airbag"), Morgan Heritage ("Electioneering"), The Meditations ("No Surprises"), Israel Vibration ("The Tourist"), Sugar Minott ("Exit (Music For A Film)"), Frankie Paul ("Lucky") also join The Easy Star All-Stars for 'Radiodread.'

In selecting the landmark 1997 Radiohead album for a Reggae re-invention, 'Radiodread's' producers saw a convergence of themes. Executive producer and Easy Star Records CEO Eric Smith said, "Reggae has always tackled dark subject matter, but manages to do it in a way that still conveys hope at the bleakest moments. Radiohead's approach is similar." Smith calls the album "a musical treatise on the collision of cultures, on surviving in this day and age, and thriving amidst everyday insanity."

Michael Goldwasser, who also helmed 'Dub Side of the Moon,' produced and arranged 'Radiodread.' Michael G knew from the beginning that the album would present a challenge. "OK Computer has elements that are perfect -- strong melodies, intense dynamics and trippy soundscapes," says Michael. "On the other hand, it has complex time signatures, lots of chord changes and things that typically aren't found in reggae. However, the more we looked at it, the more we realized that this was an album we had to do. Radiohead has given their blessing to the tracks they've heard so far, and we are excited for them to hear the complete album," he added.

New Yorkers can catch The Easy Star All-Stars for their first hometown performance in over a year at the Metrotech Center in Brooklyn on June 8 for the BAM Rhythm and Blues Fest, where they will perform several songs from 'Radiodread' in addition to a complete play of 'Dub Side of the Moon.' The Easy Star All-Stars will perform 'Radiodread' in its entirety at the All Good Music Festival on July 13 in Masontown, WV.

'Radiodread' Track Listing

1. Airbag (featuring Horace Andy)
2. Paranoid Android (featuring Kirsty Rock)
3. Subterranean Homesick Alien (featuring Junior Jazz)
4. Exit Music (For A Film) (featuring Sugar Minott)
5. Let Down (featuring Toots & The Maytals)
6. Karma Police (featuring Citizen Cope)
7. Fitter Happier (featuring Menny More)
8. Electioneering (featuring Morgan Heritage)
9. Climbing Up The Walls (featuring Tamar-kali)
10. No Surprises (featuring The Meditations)
11. Lucky (featuring Frankie Paul)
12. The Tourist (featuring Israel Vibration)
Bonus Tracks:
13. Exit Music (For A Dub)
14. An Airbag Saved My Dub

More on Starpulse:
Our review of 'Dub Side of the Moon'
Radiohead pictures, history, discography and more