Bad News For Lindsay Lohan: Star Spotted Drinking Alcohol & Her Show Is On The Chopping Block

First Musical Companion To The CW's 'Gossip Girl' In Stores Oct. 28

September 19th, 2008 6:00pm EDT favorite Add to My News
Gossip GirlAtlantic Records has announced the upcoming release of "OMFGG – Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1," the first companion soundtrack to the hit CW series, Gossip Girl.

The album features an array of tracks from a range of today's most intriguing new artists, including The Virgins, the Republic Tigers, Phantom Planet, The Kills, and The Ting Tings. "OMFGG – Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1" arrives digitally today, September 2nd – one day after the hugely anticipated Season 2 premiere of Gossip Girl. The soundtrack will then arrive in stores everywhere on October 28th.

Gossip Girl follows series creators Josh Schwartz & Stephanie Savage's previous smash drama, The O.C., which was widely regarded for granting mainstream exposure to the work of such modern rock icons as Death Cab for Cutie, The Killers, and Modest Mouse. Compiled by The O.C.'s music supervisor extraordinaire Alexandra Patsavas (Chuck, Mad Men), OMFGG – Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1 gathers together a remarkable selection of forward-thinking young bands, such as Crystal Castles, Oppenheimer, and The Teenagers. Among the soundtrack's many highlights is a booming cover of Siouxsie & the Banshees' classic "Cities In Dust," performed by the one-and-only Junkie XL.

Of course, it wouldn't be a true Gossip Girl soundtrack without some of NYC's best and brightest. Among the New Yorkers represented are The Pierces and The Strokes' Albert Hammond Jr. What's more, the album features an early version of The Virgins' "One Week of Danger," originally found on the acclaimed Big Apple-based band's now-impossible-to-find self-released EP. All songs on OMFGG – Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1 were initially featured throughout the breakthrough first season of Gossip Girl.

The soundtrack's release also sees the launch of the all-new, a site devoted to the music featured on Gossip Girl. Utilizing the NING social networking platform, fans of "OMFGG" can log in and create their own profiles, chat with other fans, watch exclusive videos from bands featured on the soundtrack, stream songs, and more. The site also features the first-ever Gossip Girl mobile list – text "OMFGG" to 50505 to join.

Gossip Girl

About Gossip Girl: Welcome to Manhattan's Upper East Side, where gossip rules and affluent prep-school students find themselves with the money, access and appetite to explore all the temptations New York City has to offer. Based on the best-selling series of young-adult novels by Cecily von Ziegesar, Gossip Girl is told through the eyes of an all-knowing blogger who is determined to uncover and fuel every scandal possible via constant, avidly read text messages.

The drama stars Blake Lively, Leighton Meester, Penn Badgley, Chace Crawford, Taylor Momsen, Ed Westwick, Jessica Szohr with Kelly Rutherford and Matthew Settle. Keeping track of the shifting friendships, jealousies and turmoil in this wealthy and complex world isn't easy; that's why there's Gossip Girl.

Gossip Girl is the winner of two Teen Choice Awards – for "Choice TV Show – Drama" and "Choice TV Breakout Show" – and has garnered a legion of fashion-forward fans. Developed by Josh Schwartz (Chuck, The O.C.) & Stephanie Savage (The O.C.), the drama is executive produced by Schwartz, Savage, Leslie Morgenstein (Privileged, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, Samurai Girl) Bob Levy (Privileged, Samurai Girl), and John Stephens (The O.C., Gilmore Girls). From College Hill Pictures, Alloy Entertainment in association with Warner Bros. Television and CBS Paramount Television Inc., the series airs Mondays (8:00–9:00 p.m. ET/PT) on The CW.

1. The Kills – "Sour Cherry"
2. The Kooks – Do You Wanna"
3. Phantom Planet – "Do The Panic"
4. The Teenagers – "Feeling Better"
5. The Virgins – "One Week Of Danger (Demo Version)"
6. Nadia Oh – "Got Your Number"
7. Crystal Castles – "Crimewave"
8. The Republic Tigers – "Fight Song"
9. Junkie XL – "Cities In Dust"
10. The Ting Tings – "We Started Nothing"
11. Oppenheimer – "Breakfast In NYC"
12. The Pierces – "Three Wishes"
13. Albert Hammond Jr. – "Hard To Live In The City"

OMFGG - Original Music Featured On Gossip Girl No. 1 (ATLANTIC) - Available Online Now and In Stores October 28th

Click the pics for gallery & larger images

(This news article provided by World Entertainment News Network)


Love It Hate It LOL WTF Cute Barf! More!

Minnie Driver Hits Miami Beach In A Bikini & Shows Off The Rose Tattoo On Her Butt Bad News For Lindsay Lohan: Star Spotted Drinking Alcohol & Her Show Is On The Chopping Block