Golfers Meet Goliath Gator

Patti Smith's Upcoming Album 'Twelve' Covers Classic Songs

2/6/2007 10:33am EST
Patti SmithColumbia Records will release "Twelve," the eagerly-anticipated album of "cover" versions of classic popular songs newly interpreted by the 2007 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Patti Smith, on Tuesday, April 17.

"Twelve" is Patti Smith's first album of new studio recordings since Trampin', her Columbia Records debut, was released in 2004, and is the artist's first-ever full-length collection of songs originally created by other performers.

On "Twelve," Patti Smith and her band -- Lenny Kaye (guitar), Jay Dee Daugherty (drums) and Tony Shanahan (bass, keyboards) -- work their magic on a surprising selection of classic songs and overlooked treasures from the rock & roll canon including "Pastime Paradise" by Stevie Wonder, "Everybody Wants To Rule The World" by Tears for Fears and "Helpless" by Neil Young.

Also on "Twelve," Smith and company interpret songs by Jimi Hendrix, Bob Dylan, the Doors, Nirvana, Jefferson Airplane, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, the Allman Brothers, and Paul Simon.
Sign up for our daily newsletter with great stories like this and more!