Musicians from some of the biggest American rock bands have joined forces to form a new band, Supernova, and will use CBS's "Rock Star" (working title) as the competition to determine the new lead singer. Supernova will feature drummer Tommy Lee (Motley Crüe), Jason Newsted (Metallica) and Gilby Clarke (Guns N' Roses). The second edition 'Rock Star' will premiere this summer.

After the winning singer is selected, Supernova will record an original album, to be co-written and produced by Butch Walker (hit songwriter/producer for Avril Lavigne, Pink) that will be released in the fall before the band embarks on a world tour starting in early 2007.

The first season of the show was called Rock Star: INXS and featured contestants vying for the lead singer position of INXS.