Having been recognized as Best New Artist at the 2005 Grammy Awards, Maroon 5 will release their much-anticipated sophomore album, "It Won't Be Soon Before Long," on May 22. The follow-up to the multi-platinum, Grammy award-winning Songs About Jane will be "sexier and stronger," according to frontman Adam Levine, who looked to 80s icons such as Prince, Michael Jackson and Talking Heads for inspiration.

Recorded at home in Los Angeles with producers Mike Elizondo, Mark "Spike" Stent, Mark Endert, and Eric Valentine the album promises to be a louder take on the pop sounds of their first effort. "It's definitely aggressive, upbeat and pounding," says Levine.

From the first single, "Makes Me Wonder," it is clear that Maroon 5 has once again captured all of the elements that create a universally appealing pop rock song. The song segues from a bass heavy intro to an infectiously catchy melody that soon belies the sentiment, "Give me something to believe in because I don't believe in you anymore." Beneath the surface, it also incorporates what Levine calls "an increasing dissatisfaction with the direction of the world" and its leaders, imparting a new layer of meaning to an otherwise upbeat breakup song.

Maroon 5 is Adam Levine (vocals, guitar), James Valentine (guitar), Jesse Carmichael (keyboard), Mickey Madden (bass) and Matt Flynn (drums). Their debut album Songs about Jane earned the 2005 Grammy Award for Best New Artist, has been certified quadruple platinum in the U.S. and has reached gold or platinum status in over 35 countries. The album has sold over ten million units worldwide. In 2006 the group earned another Grammy for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal for a live recording of their international hit single "This Love." Known for their commitment to the environment, Maroon 5 was honored at the 2006 Environmental Media Awards.

Track listing is as follows:

1. If I Never
2. Little Of Your Time
3. Wake Up Call
4. Won't Go Home Without You
5. Nothing Lasts Forever
6. Makes Me Wonder
7. Can't Stop
8. Goodnight, Goodnight
9. Not Falling Apart
10. Kiwi
11. Better That We Break
12. Back At Your Door

Maroon 5 videos