Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc., caught up with American Idol’s famous judges Simon Cowell and Randy Jackson to get their comments about the upcoming video game Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol for the PlayStation 2 computer entertainment system. Gamers will not only come face-to-face with Cowell and Jackson as they rate performances and provide feedback, but Konami’s groundbreaking artificial intelligence (AI) inside the game will also enable them to critique specific parts of any performance, a first in the award-winning video game’s history.

"Over the years American Idol has produced some amazingly talented singers, but let's be honest most of the people who turn up for the auditions are useless," said Simon Cowell. "For anyone who wants to know what it's like to audition in front of me, now you're about to find out. This game is a great representation of American Idol.”

“The number one show on television and the top karaoke video game around – wow, this is going to be big time!” said Randy Jackson. “It’s amazing what Konami has accomplished in making this game look and feel like the TV show.”

“Our goal with Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol is to deliver the experience of being a contestant on the television program. Simon Cowell and Randy Jackson have become synonymous with the show and having them as part of this game adds one more layer of authenticity,” said Matt Knoles, Product Manager at Konami Digital Entertainment, Inc. “Cowell’s and Jackson’s presence goes beyond just their likenesses. With the addition of our groundbreaking AI, their personality will really be felt in the game as they critique specific parts of a player’s performance.”

Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol lets players sing and perform using a USB headset/microphone, as they compete through a fully recreated virtual season of the number one show on television. In their quest to become the next American Idol, players can take part in auditions, earn an invitation to Hollywood and compete through the Semi-Finals and Finals stages just like on the popular television show. As players progress through the game, comments from the individual judges, both positive and sometimes outrageously negative, affect whether or not they move on to the next round of competition. Additionally, Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol offers support for the EyeToy USB Camera (for PlayStation 2). By utilizing the EyeToy Camera, players can put themselves into the game by creating a 3D model of their head, and watch themselves perform on big video screens within the 3D venues.

As they attempt to be named the next American Idol, Konami is providing gamers a selection of 40 songs, including all-time classics, contemporary favorites and, of course, hits from the television program. Selections include songs and video footage of performances from former Idols of the past 5 seasons. The list of songs also include an eclectic variety of genres from contemporary R&B and pop to classic hits from the 60s, 70s and 80s.

“The song list was carefully chosen to ensure that there was something for every taste and generation. We want to give everyone the opportunity to perform their favorites as they attempt to become the next American Idol,” said Knoles. “With signature songs from former American Idol contestants, faithfully designed American Idol venues and a variety of single- and multi-player game modes, Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol is the closest players can get to being on stage without going to an audition.”

The complete list of song titles included in Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol is:

* All My Life
* Alone
* (There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me
* Be Without You
* Breakaway
* Build Me Up Buttercup
* Can’t Help Falling In Love
* Crazy Little Thing Called Love
* Dilemma
* Do I Make You Proud
* Don’t Let The Sun Go Down on Me
* Don’t You Want Me
* Easy
* Every Rose Has Its Thorn
* Flying Without Wings
* Heartbreaker
* Heaven
* Hungry Like The Wolf
* If You Don’t Know Me By Now
* It’s Not Unusual
* Just The Way You Are
* Let’s Stay Together
* Love Will Keep Us Together
* More Than Words
* Photograph
* Piano Man
* Proud Mary Rock With You
* Saving All My Love For You
* She Bangs
* Stand By Me
* Stickwitu
* Straight Up
* Sugar, We’re Going Down
* The Real Thing
* Total Eclipse Of The Heart
* Unwritten
* What A Girl Wants
* You And Me
* You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling

Karaoke Revolution Presents: American Idol is due to hit store shelves in early December.