The stars were out Saturday night for the Film Independent Spirit Awards, held at the Santa Monica Beach in Santa Monica, California.

Hosted by comedian Andy Samberg this year, the awards ceremony isn't quite as formal as Sunday night's Oscars, taking place over lunch in a tent on the beach with no string of limousines dropping off A-list stars and port-a-potties being the place for nominees to "freshen up."

This year's awards were dominated by Silver Linings Playbook, which landed trophies for Best Screenplay, Best Film, Best Director (David O. Russell) and Best Actress (Jennifer Lawrence).

Playbook is nominated for eight Oscars tonight, including Best Picture and nominations in each of the four acting categories.

See all of the nominees for the 85th Oscars here; and See the full list of Independent Spirit Award winners here.

Jennifer Lawrence


Aubrey Plaza


Jason Isaacs


Camila Alves


Emily Osment