1. Don't expect the seasons to match the books.

The first two seasons followed the events of the first two books in order: season one was book one, season two was book two (more or less). But for fans reading along, don't be surprised when those lines start to blur. The third book, "A Storm of Swords," will be split into seasons, but not directly down the center and not on its own. As the official previews show, there are scenes in the third season that aren't in the third book at all. In fact, a certain scene with a hooded fellow being tortured is from book five, "A Dance With Dragons."

"We’re not looking at our series as a book-by-book adaptation so much as an adaptation of George’s entire saga," said executive producer David Benioff after season three was greenlit last year.

< Prev >