Never shy about their influences and the music they grew up on, multi-platinum rockers Everclear have long been known for saluting the band's roots by recording and performing a dynamic and eclectic array of covers. Now for the first time, Everclear's best studio and concert recordings have been gathered for a new collection, The Vegas Years, to be released April 15 by Capitol/EMI. Produced by Everclear singer, guitarist and songwriter Art Alexakis, the disc features 14 covers the band recorded between 1994 and this year, including versions of Hall & Oates' "Rich Girl" and Paul Revere & The Raiders' "Kicks," both available exclusively on the new CD and digital album release.

Art Alexakis on Hall & Oates' "Rich Girl":

"I have wanted to do this record since 1997, as soon as I realized that this was the closest I was ever going to get to being Frank Sinatra!," writes Art in the liner notes for The Vegas Years. "The songs on this record range from '80s pop and '60s rave-ups to blue-eyed soul, R&B and old time country with a healthy dose of classic rock, for sure."

Art Alexakis on The Go-Gos' "Our Lips Are Sealed":

The collection includes live performances from Everclear's 2007 national tour: Tommy Tutone's "867-5309 (Jenny)," adopted by the band as a high-energy show closer, and Van Morrison's "Brown Eyed Girl," which can also be heard on 2001's platinum-selling Songs From An American Movie: Learning How To Smile album. The rest of the tracks are culled from various studio sessions and include rare and never-before-heard recordings, from "American Girl"--recorded in 1994 for a Tom Petty tribute album--to two newly recorded covers: Hall & Oates' "Rich Girl" and Paul Revere & The Raiders' "Kicks." Also included are Everclear's takes on Yaz's "Bad Connection," Cheap Trick's "Southern Girls," Thin Lizzy's "The Boys Are Back In Town," Neil Young's "Pocahontas," The Go-Go's' "Our Lips Are Sealed," Woody Guthrie's "This Land Is Your Land," Little Jimmy Dickens' "Night Train To Memphis" and two classic TV theme songs, "Land Of The Lost" and "Speed Racer."

Art Alexakis on 'The Vegas Years':

On the touring front, the group--Alexakis, drummer Brett Snyder, guitarist Dave French, bassist Sam Hudson and keyboardist Josh Crawley--will be back on the road this spring and summer, performing songs from this new collection alongside Everclear favorites.

Everclear: "The Vegas Years":
1. Rich Girl Hall & Oates
2. Our Lips Are Sealed Go-Go's
3. The Boys Are Back In Town Thin Lizzy
4. Bad Connection Yaz
5. Kicks Paul Revere & The Raiders
6. Pocahontas Neil Young
7. Night Train To Memphis Little Jimmy Dickens
8. This Land Is Your Land Woody Guthrie
9. American Girl Tom Petty
10. Brown Eyed Girl (Live) Van Morrison
11. Southern Girls Cheap Trick
12. Land Of The Lost TV theme
13. Speed Racer TV theme
14. (Live Intro)
15. 867-5309 (Jenny) (Live) Tommy Tutone

Rich Girl: Windows Hi | Windows Lo | Quicktime
Our Lips Are Sealed: Windows Hi | Windows Lo | Quicktime

-Enter here for your chance to win an Everclear album prize pack, including an autographed copy of "The Vegas Years"!

More Everclear:
-Starpulse Page
-Official Site
-MySpace Page