Brokeback Mountain was named “Best Picture of 2005” while director Ang Lee was named “Best Director” for the same film by the New York Film Critics Circle. The 30 member group just voted for its 71st annual awards for excellence in cinema.

Werner Herzog was honored for two of the “Best Non-Fiction Films” for his documentaries Grizzly Man and White Diamond. 2046 directed by Wong Kar Wai was selected as “Best Foreign-Language Film” and “Best First Film” was given to filmmaker Bennett Miller for Capote. Best animated feature went to Hayao Miyazaki’s animated adventure Howl’s Moving Castle.

“Best Actor” went to Heath Ledger for the film Brokeback Mountain and Reese Witherspoon was named “Best Actress” for Walk the Line. The award for “Best Supporting Actor” and “Best Supporting Actress” went to William Hurt and Maria Bello respectively for the same film A History of Violence.

The award for Best Cinematography went to Christopher Doyle, Lai Yiu Fai and Kwan Pun Leung for 2046 and The Squid and the Whale written by Noah Baumbach was voted “Best Screenplay.”