Yo La Tengo

Listen to Yo La Tengo
and similar artists
Play Now

Home > Music > Y > Yo La Tengo

Lollapalooza 2007 Lineup Announced


Fade: Deluxe Edition


Stupid Things

Yo La Tengo Is Murdering The Classics

The Sounds Of The Sounds Of Science
All Albums >>

Birth Place: Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Years Active: 1984–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Experimental Rock, Noise Pop, Dream Pop

Yo La Tengo, sometimes abbreviated as YLT, is an American alternative rock band formed in Hoboken, New Jersey. Since 1992, the lineup has consisted of Ira Kaplan (guitars, piano, vocals), Georgia Hubley (drums, piano, vocals), and James McNew (bass, vocals). Kaplan and Hubley formed the band as a husband/wife duo in 1984. The band is renowned for its encyclopedic repertoire of cover songs both in live performance and on record. The group's debut recording was a 7" single entitled “The River of Water” backed with a cover of Arthur Lee's “A House Is Not a Motel" released in late 1985 with Dave Schramm on lead guitar and Dave Rick on bass. After recording “Private Doberman” for incl... Continue Bio >>

Photo Gallery:

Related Artists:
Nedelle Mekons Beirut Velocity Girl Bill Ricchini Robyn Hitchcock Girls The Radio Dept. Deerhunter The Sea And Cake
More >>

Browse More Music:
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z