Related Artists


Lupe Fiasco

Lloyd Banks


DJ Clue?





Ruff Ryders

Kanye West Albums

Home > Music > W > West, Kanye > Albums

''808s & Heartbreak'' is the fourth studio album by American hip hop artist Kanye West, released November 24, 2008 on Roc-A-Fella Records in the United States. Recording sessions for the album took place at Glenwood Studios in Burbank, California and Avex Recording Studio in Honolulu, Hawaii during September to October 2008. It was primarily produced by West, No I.D., and Jeff Bhasker. Conceived in the wake of multiple events that affected and distressed him during the previous year, ''808's & Heartbreak'' marked a major musical departure for Kanye West from his previous work, lyrically, vocally, and production-wise.

Classified by West as a pop album, ''808s & Heartbreak'' incorporates elements of synthpop, electronica, R&B, and electropop, while its tracks are primarily sung rather than rapped by West and contain lyrical themes such as love, loneliness, and heartache. The album also contains a predominant use of the Auto-Tune voice processor and the Roland TR-808 drum machine, which was utilized and manipulated by West to produce a distorted, electronic sound. Approaching the album's production in a minimalist fashion, West intended to contravene the typical sound of hip hop beat and instead evoke a presence of tribal drums.

The album debuted at number one on the U.S. ''Billboard'' 200 chart, selling 450,145 copies in its first week, and it produced four singles that attained ''Billboard'' chart success. ''808s & Heartbreak'' became his fourth album to sell 1 million copies in the United States and was certified platinum in sales by the Recording Industry Association of America. Despite a divided reaction from music audiences towards West's stylistic change, the album received generally positive reviews from most music critics upon its release. In 2009, ''Rolling Stone'' magazine named it the sixty-third best album of the 2000s decade.

808s & Heartbreak
Label: Roc-A-Fella Records
Release Date: 2008-11-24
Duration: 52:06

Buy AlbumPrice: $11.49

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Say You Will 06:18
$1.29 Buy Song
2Welcome To Heartbreak Feat. Kid Cudi) 04:23
$1.29 Buy Song
3Heartless 03:30
$1.29 Buy Song
4Amazing (Feat. Young Jeezy) 03:58
$1.29 Buy Song
5Love Lockdown 04:30
$1.29 Buy Song
6Paranoid (Feat. Mr Hudson) 04:38
$1.29 Buy Song
7RoboCop 04:34
$1.29 Buy Song
8Street Lights 03:10
$1.29 Buy Song
9Bad News 03:59
$1.29 Buy Song
10See You In My Nightmares (Feat. Lil Wayne) 04:18
$1.29 Buy Song
11Coldest Winter 02:46
$1.29 Buy Song
12Pinocchio Story (Freestyle Live From Singapore) 06:02
$1.29 Buy Song
Album - 808s & Heartbreak $11.49 Buy Album