Related Artists

The Helio Sequence

Surfer Blood

The Twilight Sad Biography

Home > Music > T > Twilight Sad, The > Biography

Birth Place: Kilsyth, Scotland
Years Active: 2003–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Shoegazing

The Twilight Sad is an indie rock band from Kilsyth, Scotland, comprising James Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane (guitar), and Mark Devine (drums). The band is currently signed to Fat Cat Records.

Their 2007 debut album, “Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters,” drew widespread critical acclaim, noted by Graham's thick Scottish accent and MacFarlane's dense sonic walls of shoegazing guitar and wheezing accordion. The Twilight Sad is known for their notoriously loud live performances and they tour regularly. Sessions inspired by stripped-down and reworked live performances yielded the 2008 mini-album, “Here, It Never Snowed. Afterwards It Did.”

Their second album, 2009’s “Forget the Night Ahead,” marked a shift in the band's direction as lyrically they became more personal and musically darker and more streamlined. Recording sessions for the album also produced the mid-2010 release “The Wrong Car,” which followed the departure of founding bassist Craig Orzel in February 2010.

The Twilight Sad's third album, “No One Can Ever Know, “was released in February 2012 and marked another stylistic shift, with the band citing industrial music and krautrock influences for a darker, sparser sound.