Related Artists

Asleep At The Wheel

Chely Wright

Pam Tillis

Jamie O'Neal

Terri Clark

Patty Loveless


Neil Diamond

Gretchen Wilson

Sawyer Brown

Trick Pony Biography

Home > Music > T > Trick Pony > Biography

Birth Place: Nashville, Tennessee, U.S.
Years Active: 1996-2008
Genres: Country

Trick Pony was an American country music group. It was formed in 1996 by Keith Burns (lead guitar, vocals), Ira Dean (bass guitar, upright bass, vocals), and Heidi Newfield (lead vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar). The group recorded three studio albums: ''Trick Pony'', ''On a Mission'' and ''R.I.D.E.'', released in 2001 in 2002 and 2005, respectively. These albums produced eight charted singles on the ''Billboard'' Hot Country Songs charts, including four Top 20 hits: "Pour Me," "On a Night Like This," "Just What I Do" and "On a Mission."

In 2006, Newfield departed for a solo career, with Aubrey Collins taking her place on lead vocals. The group subssequently disbanded after Collins and Burns left in 2007 and 2008, respectively. Newfield released a solo debut album, ''What Am I Waiting For'', in 2008 on Curb Records, while Burns joined singer Michelle Poe to form a duo called Burns & Poe.