Related Artists

All That Remains

Evans Blue




Rev Theory


10 Years


Puddle Of Mudd

Trapt Biography

Home > Music > T > Trapt > Biography

Birth Place: Los Gatos, California, USA
Years Active: 1995—present
Genres: Hard Rock, Alternative Metal, Nu Metal

Trapt is an American rock band that formed in Los Gatos, California in 1995. The group is composed of lead singer Chris Taylor Brown, lead guitarist Robb Torres, bass guitarist Peter Charell, and drummer Aaron "Monty" Montgomery.

Their self-titled debut was released November 5, 2002. With three hit singles, the album ascended to #42 on the Billboard 200 album sales chart. It went gold in May 2003 then platinum in November of that same year, making it Trapt's most successful album to date. By 2005, the album had sold 1.5 million copies in the U.S.

“Someone in Control,” their second album, was released on September 13, 2005 by Warner Bros. Records. The album debuted at #14 on the Billboard 200 chart. Three singles were released: "Stand Up," "Waiting" and "Disconnected (Out Of Touch)." "Stand Up" reached #4 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and #17 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart. “Someone in Control” was co-produced by Trapt and Don Gilmore. The lyrics were written by Chris Brown, music written by Trapt.

“Only Through the Pain” was released on August 5, 2008 through Allen Kovac and Nikki Sixx's Eleven Seven Music. The album debuted at #18 on the Billboard 200 Chart and #4 on the Rock Album Chart. It moved 25,000 copies its first week and has sold over 60,895 copies to date.

“No Apologies” was released on October 12, 2010 with Eleven Seven Music label. “No Apologies” debuted on the Billboard 200 at #25. The first single is "Sound Off."