These New Puritans Biography

Home > Music > T > These New Puritans > Biography

Birth Place: Southend-on-Sea, England
Years Active: 2006–present
Genres: Art Rock

These New Puritans is a British Art Rock band from the Southend-on-Sea area. The group consists of Jack Barnett (songwriter, producer, vocalist, multi-instrumentalist), his twin brother George Barnett (drums, loops), Thomas Hein (bass, sampler, keyboards, drums) and Sophie Sleigh-Johnson (keyboards, sampler).

Their debut album, “Beat Pyramid,” was released in 2008 in the United Kingdom by Angular Recording Corporation and in the United States through Domino Records. The double A-side “Numbers”/“Colours,” “Elvis” and “Swords of Truth” were released as singles. Barnett has claimed that hip-hop group Wu-Tang Clan was among the influences for the album, along with electronic music from artists in the vein of Aphex Twin.

Their sophomore album, “Hidden,” was released in 2010 through Angular/Domino. Featuring a wider sonic palette than previous work and sections played by a Czech orchestra, it was produced by Barnett and former Bark Psychosis leader Graham Sutton. Barnett learned music notation in order to write the classical parts of the album, especially the brass and woodwind audio tracks. The album reached #100 on the U.K. Albums chart and #10 on the U.K. Indie Albums chart.