Related Artists

The Yardbirds

Van Morrison

Bob Dylan

The Kinks

Wilson Pickett

The Lovin' Spoonful


The Spencer Davis Group

The Zombies

Chuck Berry

Them Biography

Home > Music > T > Them > Biography

Birth Place: Belfast, Northern Ireland
Years Active: 1964- 1971, 1979
Genres: Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul, Garage Rock, Blues-rock, Protopunk

Them was a Northern Irish band formed in Belfast in April 1964, most prominently known for the garage rock standard "Gloria" and launching singer Van Morrison's musical career. The group was marketed in the United States as part of the British Invasion.

The band featured Van Morrison on vocals and harmonica, Billy Harrison on guitar (born William Harrison, 14 October 1942, in Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland), Eric Wrixon on piano and keyboards (Wrixon named the band, but never played on any published albums or toured the States), Alan Henderson on bass (born 26 November 1944, in Belfast), Raymond Sweetman on bass (born Dermot Robert Sweetman, 1 January 1948, in Holyhead, Anglesey, North Wales) and Ronnie Millings on drums (born c 1937, in Belfast), with other musicians replacing or contributing during the life of the band. Henderson was the only constant member of the band from inception through their 1972 breakup and 1979 reunion.