The Funk Brothers

Listen to The Funk Brothers
and similar artists
Play Now

Home > Music > T > The Funk Brothers


Jack Ashford & His Funk Brothers

Live In Orlando

20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collect…

Jerry O And The Funk Brothers

Birth Place: Detroit, Michigan, United States
Years Active: 1959–1972
Genres: Soul, Funk, R&B

The Funk Brothers was the nickname of Detroit, Michigan, session musicians who performed the backing to most Motown Records recordings from 1959 until the company moved to Los Angeles in 1972. The Funk Brothers played on Motown hits such as "My Girl", "I Heard It Through the Grapevine", "Baby Love", "Signed, Sealed, Delivered I'm Yours", "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone", "The Tears of a Clown", "Ain't No Mountain High Enough", and "(Love is Like a) Heat Wave". The role of the Funk Brothers is described in Paul Justman's 2002 documentary film ''Standing in the Shadows of Motown'', based on Allan Slutsky's book of the same name. The opening titles proclaim the Funk Brothers as "having played on mor... Continue Bio >>

Related Artists:
Twistin Kings Ed Townsend Pete Jolly Nicole Willis And The Soul Investigators Joe Williams Brownout Otis Clay Amp Fiddler Terry Callier The Cover Crew
More >>

Music Videos:

Browse More Music:
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z