Related Artists

New Found Glory


Say Anything

Brand New

The Starting Line


Senses Fail


The Used


Taking Back Sunday Biography

Home > Music > T > Taking Back Sunday > Biography

Birth Place: Amityville, New York
Years Active: 1999-present
Genres: Alternative Rock, Post-hardcore, Indie Rock, Emo

Taking Back Sunday is an American rock band from Amityville, Long Island, New York, formed in 1999 by Eddie Reyes. The current members are lead vocalist Adam Lazzara, guitarist/vocalist John Nolan, guitarist Eddie Reyes, bassist Shaun Cooper and drummer Mark O'Connell.

The band released their first full album, “Tell All Your Friends,” on Victory Records in 2002. “Tell All Your Friends” gave the band a small taste of success in the alternative rock spotlight, thanks to the singles “Cute Without the 'E' (Cut from the Team),” “Great Romances of the 20th Century,” and “You're So Last Summer.” The latter song gained popularity with a music video featuring rapper Flavor Flav.

Their second album, “Where You Want To Be,” was released in 2004, on Victory Records. Although sounding slightly different from “Tell All Your Friends,” the new album managed to do well commercially and like their debut was certified gold by the RIAA. Propelled by the single “A Decade Under the Influence,” “Where You Want To Be” went on to debut at #3 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

In 2006, Taking Back Sunday released their third album, “Louder Now,” on Warner Bros. Records which became their third straight gold certified record. The album and peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200. The single “MakeDamnSure” peaked at #8 on the Billboard Hot Modern Rock Tracks chart in 2006 and #48 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart.

“New Again” was released through Warner Bros. Records in 2009 and debuted at #7 on the Billboard 200. The album's first single, “Sink Into Me,” reached #10 on the Billboard Alternative Songs chart.

In 2011 the band released a self-titled album via Warner Bros. which reached #17 on the Billboard 200. “Faith (When I Let You Down)” and “This Is All Now” were released as the album’s singles.