Related Artists



Dream Theater

Iced Earth



Lamb Of God

Yngwie Malmsteen



Symphony X Biography

Home > Music > S > Symphony X > Biography

Birth Place: Middletown, New Jersey, United States
Years Active: 1993-Present
Genres: Progressive Metal, Power Metal, Neo-classical Metal

Symphony X is an American progressive metal band from Middletown, New Jersey founded in 1994 by guitarist Michael Romeo. In early 1994 Michael Romeo recorded a studio album entitled “The Dark Chapter,” which featured himself and keyboard player Michael Pinnella. The tape attracted a fair share of attention, particularly in Japan. He then recruited bassist Thomas Miller, drummer Jason Rullo and vocalist Rod Tyler.

Their self-titled debut album was recorded in the same year, and released to a positive reception in Japan by the now-extinct record company Zero Corporation Label.

The band's second studio album, “The Damnation Game,” followed six months later. Singer Rod Tyler had left the band by then and was replaced by current singer Russell Allen.

1997’s “The Divine Wings of Tragedy” first gave Symphony X exposure in metal circles. It took a considerable time to record the album, with the recording sessions beginning in 1996 and concluding in 1997. The positive feedback from the press served to establish Symphony X in Europe and their success in Japan only continued to grow.

The band’s next album, “Twilight in Olympus,” was released in early 1998. That year also saw the first live performances from the band, which by then had already gathered many fans from around the globe. Their first official show happened in 1998, in Japan. It was soon followed by a world tour. Bassist Thomas Miller left the band and was replaced by Michael Lepond in that year.

A compilation album, “Prelude to the Millennium,” was released by the end of 1998. As an extra, it featured a second version of the song “Masquerade” from the first album, with Russell Allen on vocals.

The band's fifth album, “V: The New Mythology Suite,” was released in 2000. It was the band's first release on major progressive label InsideOut Music. The record was their first concept album, dealing with the myth of Atlantis. The album featured classics such as “Communion and the Oracle,” “Egypt” and the mini-suite “Rediscovery,” and included pieces of classical music.

The band went on a European tour shortly after its release and recorded their first live album, 2001’s “Live on the Edge of Forever.”

In 2002, the band released “The Odyssey,” an album prominently featuring a 24-minute long musical interpretation of the Homeric epic, the Odyssey.

The band's 2007 album “Paradise Lost,” a concept album loosely inspired by John Milton's epic poem of the same name, was recorded in Romeo's studio. The band claimed this work had darker themes musically. The album included a special DVD of footage shot by the band throughout their history. “Paradise Lost” debuted at #123 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart in the United States.

Released in 2011, their album, “Iconoclast,” debuted at #76 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart in the United States. The record also debuted at #7 on the Hard Rock Albums chart, #19 on the Rock Albums chart and #13 on the Independent Albums chart. The album showcases the highest chart position and the most first-week sales in the band's history.