Related Artists


Mason Jennings

Rocky Votolato

Nick Drake

Ben Sollee

M. Ward

The Tallest Man On Earth


She & Him

Elliott Smith

Sun Kil Moon Biography

Home > Music > S > Sun Kil Moon > Biography

Birth Place: San Francisco, California
Years Active: 2002-present
Genres: Folk Rock

Sun Kil Moon is a music project of singer-songwriter Mark Kozelek, best known for his previous band Red House Painters. Sun Kil Moon sees Kozelek undertake the writing, composing, singing, and guitar playing, accompanied by Tim Mooney and Anthony Koutsos on drums, and Geoff Stanfield on bass. The band is named after Korean lightweight boxer Sung-Kil Moon.

Following the dissolution of Red House Painters after the tumultuous release of their last album 2001’s “Old Ramon,” Kozelek released a handful of solo recordings before forming Sun Kil Moon in 2002. The band's debut album, “Ghosts of the Great Highway,” was released in November 2003 by Jetset Records. It contained several songs concerned with true-life stories of deceased boxers, such as Mexican featherweight champion Salvador Sánchez, Filipino flyweight champion Pancho Villa, and also Korean boxer Duk Koo Kim, all three boxers died at the age of 23.

The band's follow-up “Tiny Cities” was released in November 2005 on Kozelek's label Caldo Verde Records. The album covered 11 songs by the indie/alternative group Modest Mouse. “Ghosts of the Great Highway” was re-issued as a double LP in February 2007 on Caldo Verde. The second disc featureed six bonus tracks, including a cover of “Somewhere” written by Leonard Bernstein.

Sun Kil Moon's third studio album “April” was released in April 2008 and featured guest vocals from Will Oldham and Ben Gibbard. The album was issued as a double LP, featuring a bonus disc of alternate recordings of album tracks. “Admiral Fell Promises” was released in July 2010, and while credited to Sun Kil Moon, only Kozelek played on the record, on nylon stringed guitar, and vocals

“Among The Leaves,” Sun Kil Moon's fifth studio album, was released in May 2012. It contained 17 songs played almost entirely on nylon string guitar