Related Artists

Adelitas Way

In This Moment


Sick Puppies

Sixx: A.M.

Coal Chamber



Alter Bridge


Stone Sour Biography

Home > Music > S > Stone Sour > Biography

Birth Place: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Years Active: 1992-present
Genres: Post-grunge, Alternative Metal

Stone Sour is an American rock band from Des Moines, Iowa. Since 2006, the group has been composed of Corey Taylor (lead vocals), Jim Root (lead guitar, backing vocals), Josh Rand, (rhythm guitar), Shawn Economaki (bass guitar) and Roy Mayorga (drums, percussion). Original drummer Joel Ekman left the group in 2006. The group formed in 1992, performing for 5 years, before disbanding in 1997 when Taylor and Root joined Slipknot. The group reunited in 2002.

Their debut, self-titled album was released in 2002 through Roadrunner Records. It was certified gold in the United States and two singles from the album, “Get Inside” and “Inhale” received Grammy Award nominations for Best Metal Performance in consecutive years. The album reached #46 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and “Brother” reached #4 on the Billboard Alternative Songs chart.

“Come What(ever) May,” their second studio album, was released through Roadrunner Records in 2006. It peaked at #4 on the Billboard 200 and was certified gold. The single

“Through Glass” peaked at #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and “Sillyworld” reached #2. The single “30/30-150” received another Grammy Award nomination for Best Metal Performance.

Their third studio album, “Audio Secrecy,” was released via Roadrunner in 2010. It debuted at #6 on the Billboard 200 and featured the single “Say You'll Haunt Me” which topped the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.