Related Artists

Puddle Of Mudd

Adelitas Way


Five Finger Death Punch


In This Moment



10 Years

Kid Rock

Staind Biography

Home > Music > S > Staind > Biography

Birth Place: Springfield, Massachusetts
Years Active: 1995-present
Genres: Post-grunge, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Hard Rock, Nu Metal

Staind is an American rock band from Springfield, Massachusetts, including lead singer/guitarist Aaron Lewis, lead guitarist Mike Mushok, bassist Johnny April and drummer Jon Wysocki. Over the past 14 years the band has recorded six studio albums, had multiple chart topping singles, and sold over 15 million records worldwide. Staind formed on September 23, 1995 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

They self-released their debut album, "Tormented," in November 1996. Until recently, the album was difficult to obtain, as only four thousand copies were originally sold. Since then, the band's official website has released the album to meet the demand from fans. On April 13, 1999, Staind released its major label debut "Dysfunction" on Flip Records. The album achieved slow success, with the album reaching the #1 spot on Billboard's Heatseaker Charts almost six months after its debut. In the same week, the album jumped to #73 on Billboard's Top 200 Album Charts. Singles "Mudshovel" and "Home" both received radio play, cracking the Top 20 of Billboard's Modern Rock and Mainstream Rock charts.

Staind released their third studio album "Break the Cycle" on May 22, 2001. Propelled by the success of their first single "It's Been Awhile", the album debuted at #1 on Billboard's Top 200 Album charts, selling 716,000 albums in its first week. The album's first week sales were the second highest of any album that year. The follow-up to "Break The Cycle," 2003's "14 Shades Of Grey," sold two million albums and debuted at number 1 on the Billboard 200.

"Chapter V" their fifth studio album was released on August 9, 2005, debuted at number 1, and spawned four moderately successful singles on rock radio. On August 19, 2008, Staind released their sixth album, "The Illusion of Progress." It debuted at #3 in the Billboard 200 with 91,800 units sold. The first single was "Believe", topping the Modern Rock Tracks on September 13, 2008 and number one for 3 weeks.