Related Artists

Cold War Kids

My Morning Jacket

Jenny Lewis

The National


TV On The Radio

Local Natives

Peter Bjorn and John


Vampire Weekend

Spoon Biography

Home > Music > S > Spoon > Biography

Birth Place: Austin, Texas, United States
Years Active: 1994–present
Genres: Indie Rock

Spoon is an American indie rock band formed in Austin, Texas. They are based in Portland, Oregon. The band is composed of Britt Daniel (vocals, guitar); Jim Eno (drums); Rob Pope (bass, guitar, keyboards, backing vocals) and Eric Harvey (keyboard, guitar, percussion, backing vocals).

The band was formed in late 1993 by lead singer/guitarist Britt Daniel and drummer Jim Eno, after the two met as members of The Alien Beats.

Spoon's recording debut came with the vinyl release of “Nefarious” in May 1994. In 1995 the band signed with Matador Records, and within a year, Spoon released its first full-length LP “Telephono” in 1996.

Spoon signed to Elektra Records in 1998. Through this major label the band released “A Series of Sneaks” in May of that year. Spoon then signed with the indie rock label Merge Records and released the “Love Ways” EP in 2000.

In 2001, Spoon released its third LP entitled “Girls Can Tell.” The new record was a success, selling more copies than both their previous LP releases combined. The band’s next release in 2002, “Kill the Moonlight” saw similar success.

“Kill the Moonlight” also contained the single, "The Way We Get By," which was popularized by its placement on the teen drama “The O.C.” Their next album, “Gimme Fiction,” was released in May 2005, and debuted at number 44 on the Billboard 200, selling more than 160,000 copies.

On July 10, 2007, “Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga” was released and debuted at number 10 on the Billboard 200. To date, the album has sold over 318,000 copies in the United States.

On January 18, 2010 the band released their seventh studio album, Transference. It debuted at #4 on the Billboard 200, selling 53,000 copies in its first week.