Related Artists

Joseph Arthur


Soulsavers Biography

Home > Music > S > Soulsavers > Biography

Birth Place: North England
Years Active: 2000-present
Genres: Electronica, Alternative Rock

Soulsavers (also known as The Soulsavers Soundsystem) are an English production and remix team composed of Rich Machin and Ian Glover. The Soulsavers' downtempo electronica sound incorporates influences of rock, gospel, soul, and country. To date, the duo has released three albums: ''Tough Guys Don't Dance'' in 2003, ''It's Not How Far You Fall, It's the Way You Land'' (with Mark Lanegan and others) in 2007, and ''Broken'' in 2009.

Soulsavers' third album, ''Broken'', was released on August 17, 2009. Mark Lanegan once again featured as the main vocalist. Other prominent musicians such as Mike Patton (of Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Tomahawk and other projects), Jason Pierce (of Spiritualized and Spacemen 3), Richard Hawley, and Gibby Haynes (of Butthole Surfers) also feature on the album. The non-album single "Sunrise," a song written by Lanegan and sung by Will Oldham, preceded the album release on August 3, 2009. The B-side is a cover of Palace Brothers' "You Will Miss Me When I Burn," a song written by Oldham and sung by Lanegan, that also features on the ''Broken'' album.

The pair are also making headway as film score composers, with a portfolio of work that includes the feature documentary ''BattleGround: 21 Days on the Empire's Edge'' produced by the Guerrilla News Network.

Their song "Revival" was featured on the November 22, 2007 episode of ''Grey's Anatomy'', titled "Crash Into Me" part 1. The song was also featured on the December 10th episode of ''Friday Night Lights'', "The Giving Tree." It is also featured in the snowboarding movie ''That's It, That's All''. "Kingdoms of Rain" featured in the ''Lie to Me'' episode "Truth or Consequences," which aired on October 5, 2009. They supported Depeche Mode during the European leg of their Tour of the Universe in late 2009.