Related Artists

Rev Theory

Trust Company


Story Of The Year

12 Stones

A Skylit Drive

Pop Evil

We Came As Romans



Smile Empty Soul Biography

Home > Music > S > Smile Empty Soul > Biography

Birth Place: Santa Clarita, California
Years Active: Since 1998
Genres: Post-grunge, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, Hard Rock

Smile Empty Soul is an American post-grunge band from Santa Clarita, California in 1998. The band formed while its original members were attending different high schools in the Santa Clarita area. Originally a three-piece, the group consisted of vocalist and guitarist Sean Danielsen, bassist Ryan Martin and drummer Derek Gledhill. After playing numerous hometown gigs, Smile Empty Soul ventured to the Castro District, and later passed a demo to John Parker of the West Hollywood indie label, ThroBack Records. That later led to a record deal with Jason Flom's Lava Records.

In 2003 the band released their self titled debut album, “Smile Empty Soul.” The album was produced by John Lewis Parker, and three successful singles were released. In March 2005, the album was certified gold by the RIAA.

Their sophomore LP, “Anxiety,” was scheduled to be released in the fall of 2005 via Lava Records, but after numerous push-backs, the label scrapped the album and Smile Empty Soul departed Lava. Fans were encouraged to purchase one of a very limited number of burned copies or attempt to download the album online via BitTorrent. Sometime after the recording of “Anxiety,” drummer Derek Gledhill was replaced by Dominic Weir.

In 2006 Smile Empty Soul signed with independent label, Bieler Bros. Records. At this point, drummer Dominic Weir had been replaced by Jake Kilmer, and Mike Booth (ex-Cold) was added as a second guitarist. The band released “Vultures,” the official follow-up to their debut “Smile Empty Soul,” in 2006. The album did not include any songs from the unreleased “Anxiety,” and debuted at #169 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

Later in 2007 Smile Empty Soul parted ways with Mike Booth, which was a mutual split. The band has yet to replace him, and has continued on as a 3-piece.They signed with F.O.F./EMI records in 2008 and their next album, “Consciousness” was then released in 2009.

In 2010, “More Anxiety,” a special edition of “Anxiety” including a bonus DVD was released. Smile Empty Soul signed with eOne Music in early 2012 which issued their next album, “3's,” later that year.