Related Artists


Thousand Foot Krutch

Escape The Fate

Five Finger Death Punch

10 Years



Papa Roach

Puddle Of Mudd


Sixx: A.M. Biography

Home > Music > S > Sixx: A.M. > Biography

Birth Place: Los Angeles, California, USA
Years Active: 2007-present
Genres: Hard Rock

Sixx:A.M. is a hard rock band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 2007 by Nikki Sixx, DJ Ashba, and James Michael, and is the side project of Sixx, who is also the bass guitarist for Mötley Crüe. The name Sixx:A.M. is a combination of all of the member's last names (Sixx, Ashba, Michael).

The band released “The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack” in 2007, which is based upon Sixx's autobiography, “The Heroin Diaries: A Year in the Life of a Shattered Rock Star.” A deluxe tour edition of “The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack” was released in 2008, which included a bonus live EP entitled “Live Is Beautiful” featuring recorded performances from the band's summer tour.

Sixx's second book, “This Is Gonna Hurt,” was released in 2011 and like their first album which served as a companion soundtrack to Nikki Sixx' first book, the companion album, “This Is Gonna Hurt,” released soon after. The lead single "Lies of the Beautiful People" was released in advance of the album and book. The album peaked at #10 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.