Related Artists

The Corrs

Paula Cole

Natalie Imbruglia

The Cardigans

Michelle Branch

Huey Lewis

Lisa Loeb

The Go-Go's

Vanessa Carlton

Lily Allen

Sixpence None The Richer Biography

Birth Place: New Braunfels, Texas, U.S.
Years Active: 1992–2004, 2008–present
Genres: Pop Rock, Adult Alternative

Sixpence None the Richer is a rock/pop band that formed in New Braunfels, Texas in the early 1990s. The band became well-known for their songs “Kiss Me” and “Breathe Your Name.” Sixpence None the Richer got their start when guitarist and songwriter, Matt Slocum met vocalist Leigh Nash and they decided to record a demo together. The duo then recruited bassist T.J. Behling and drummer Brad Arnold to work with them. The foursome naturally fell into the notion that they were a band and began writing songs for their debut album, “The Fatherless and the Widow,” which was put out by the independent label REX Music in 1993. The band added a second guitarist, Tess Wiley, permanent bass player Joel Bailey, and drummer Dale Baker. After the release of their debut the band hit the road in support of the album; opening for bands such as 10,000 Maniacs, Audio Adrenaline, Pray For Rain, and Over The Rhine. 1994 saw the band tour Europe, play the festival circuit, and work with bands from Europe such as the Proclaimers, Newsboys, and Julie & Buddy Miller.

The band's second offering, “This Beautiful Mess” appeared in 1995 and also saw a lineup change with J.J. Plasencio taking over bass duties, and Wiley leaving the band. 1997 marked he band's signing to Squint Entertainment and the release of their third album, which was self-titled, and managed to cross over to the mainstream markets, gathering attention from wider audiences. The 1998 single, “Kiss Me” saw the band catapulted into the pop music arena. The song became a commercial success and was featured in the films, “She's All That” and “Not Another Teen Movie.” The song also made its debut on national television with the WB's teen show, “Dawson's Creek.”

The band's second hit single emerged in 1999 and was a cover of The La's' “There She Goes.” By now Sixpence had become a household name as they began to perform on all the late night talk shows, such as the Late Show with David Letterman, and The Tonight Show with Jay Leno. The band's fourth offering, “Divine Discontent” was released in 2002 just as Squint Entertainment was closing their doors. The album was moderately successful and featured a successful cover of Crowded House's “Don't Dream It's Over.” The band had seen a number of line-up changes by 2004 and felt directionless without a label; as a result they disbanded. Slocum went on to start a new band, Astronaut Pushers, with Lindsay Jamieson, Sam Ashworth and John Davis, and released a self-titled, four-song EP on their own label, Runway Network in 2005. However, a year later in 2007, Sixpence None the Richer had reunited. The band self-released the EP, “My Dear Machine” in 2008.

2009 saw the band sign with Credential Recordings and headline the Greenbelt Festival in the U.K. later that same year. The band's debut for the new label, “Strange Conversation,” was slated for a 2010 release date; however issues with the label pushed the album's release date back. By 2011 the album was still not released. The name of the album ultimately was changed to, “Lost in Transition” and was self-released by the band in 2012.