Related Artists

My Chemical Romance

Theory Of A Deadman


10 Years

Drowning Pool



A Day To Remember


Papa Roach

Sick Puppies Biography

Home > Music > S > Sick Puppies > Biography

Birth Place: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Years Active: 1997-present
Genres: Alternative Rock, Alternative Metal, Hard Rock, Nu Metal

Sick Puppies are an Australian rock band, formed in 1997. The band consists of vocalist and guitarist Shimon Moore, bassist Emma Anzai and drummer Mark Goodwin.

An EP titled “Dog’s Breakfast” was self-produced and self-released by the band in 1999. In 2001, the band released their first studio album, “Welcome to the Real World.” “Welcome to the Real World” was a hit in Australia and led to the band winning the Triple J Unearthed band competition that is held annually in Australia

With the band gaining momentum, Shim and Emma decided to move to Los Angeles, CA. Drummer Chris Mileski was unable to leave Australia so he was replaced by current drummer Mark Goodwin. In 2003 an EP titled “Fly” was independently released. They followed with two additional EPs in 2006, “Headphone Injuries” and the self-titled “Sick Puppies.”

In 2007 they released their second studio album (first on a major label), “Dressed Up As Life.” The album came after the huge success of the "Free Hugs Campaign," and featured their breakout single "All the Same." The song reached #8 on the Billboard Modern Rock chart and is also featured on the video for the Free Hugs Campaign video which won YouTube video of the year in 2006. They followed up with the single "My World," which peaked at #20 on the Alternative Songs chart.

They followed up their debut with the single "My World", which peaked at number twenty. “Tri-Polar,” their third full-length studio album, was released in 2009. The album debuted at #31 on the Billboard 200 chart. Their first single off “Tri-Polar,” titled "You're Going Down" peaked at #8 on the Billboard Rock Songs chart, as well as #11 on the Alternative Songs chart and #2 on the Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

2010 saw the release of an acoustic EP, “Live & Unplugged,” featuring a live version of “You're Going Down.” Another EP, “Polar Opposite” was released in 2011 and it features acoustic versions of many of their most well-known songs, including "All the Same."