Related Artists

Alter Bridge


Ill Niño

Dark New Day


Sixx: A.M.

Evans Blue



The Exies

Sevendust Biography

Home > Music > S > Sevendust > Biography

Birth Place: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Years Active: 1994 – present
Genres: Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, Alternative Metal

Sevendust is an American heavy metal band from Atlanta, Georgia. The band was formed in 1994 by bassist Vince Hornsby, drummer Morgan Rose and guitarist John Connolly. After their first demo, lead vocalist Lajon Witherspoon and guitarist Clint Lowery joined the group. Following a few name changes, the members settled on the name Sevendust and released their self-titled debut on April 15, 1997.

“Sevendust” appeared on the Billboard 200, remained there for sixteen weeks and peaked at #165 on April 4, 1998. The album went gold on May 19, 1999, and has sold 732,000 copies in the U.S. It features the singles “Black,” “Bitch” and “Too Close to Hate” which all charted on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart

On August 24, 1999, they released their second album, “Home.” The album peaked at #19 on the Billboard 200. The two singles from the album, "Denial" and "Waffle," gave the band moderate chart success.

In November 2001, the band released their third album, “Animosity.” This album went gold and gained the band commercial success thanks to the success of singles "Praise" and "Angel's Son," which peaked at #15 and #11, respectively, on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

In 2003, Sevendust returned with their fourth album, “Seasons.” The album debuted at #14 in the US, selling around 68,000 copies in its first week. This was one of the band's best received albums and to date features their highest charting single (tied with "Driven"), "Enemy," which peaked at #10 on the Mainstream Rock Chart. "Enemy" was made the official theme song for WWE Unforgiven 2003. Other singles released from the album, "Broken Down" and "Face to Face," met with more moderate success charting at #20 and #22, respectively.

On October 11, 2005, Sevendust released their fifth studio album, “Next,” on the Winedark Records label, distributed by Universal Music. In the process, Sevendust also created their own record label, 7Bros Records. The first radio single off “Next” was the track “Ugly,” released to radio August 9, 2005.

Sevendust released their sixth full-length studio album, entitled “Alpha,” on March 6, 2007. The album debuted at #14 in the US, the band's highest chart position yet.

Their seventh studio album, titled “Chapter VII: Hope & Sorrow” was released on April 1, 2008. The album debuted at #19 on the Billboard 200 and has appearances from Chris Daughtry and Alter Bridge members Myles Kennedy and Mark Tremonti. The first single released was "Prodigal Son," which peaked at #19 on the Mainstream Rock Chart. The second single was "The Past" and the third "Inside."

“Cold Day Memory” was released on April 20, 2010. The album debuted at 12 on the Billboard 200, their best performance on the Billboard 200 chart ever. The album peaked #84 on Canadian album chart. It features the singles “Unraveling” and “Forever.”