Related Artists

Rush Of Fools

Kristian Stanfill

Falling Up

Lincoln Brewster


Mark Schultz

Big Daddy Weave

Hawk Nelson


Dave Barnes

Sanctus Real Biography

Home > Music > S > Sanctus Real > Biography

Birth Place: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Years Active: 1996–present
Genres: Christian Alternative Rock, Christian Rock, Power Pop

Sanctus Real is a Christian rock band formed in Toledo, Ohio, in 1996. The group is comprised of Matt Hammitt on lead vocals and guitar; Chris Rohman on guitar; Dan Gartley on bass; Pete Prevost on guitar; and Mark Graalman on drums. The band rose to fame for their cover of U2's “Beautiful Day,” and a string of #1 hit singles: “Everything About You,” “The Fight Song,” “I'm Not Alright,” “Don't Give Up,” “We Need Each Other,” “Forgiven” and “Lead Me.” The band came together when Hammitt and Rohman met in tenth grade and made an instant connection over music. From there the duo recruited Gartley, Prevost, and Graalman, and independently released their first three albums: “All This Talk of Aliens” (1998); “Message for the Masses” (1999); and “Nothing to Lose” (2001). Based the exposure and success of these first three albums in the Christian music world, the band were offered a record deal with Sparrow Records in 2002; releasing their debut for the label, “Say It Loud” later that same year.

The band followed up with a tour in support of the record and performed in the opening slot on the Festival Con Dios tour. 2003 saw the band touring once again on the See Spot Rock Tour with artists, such as Relient K, the O.C. Supertones, Pillar and John Reuben. 2004 saw the band follow up with “Fight the Tide,” which garnered the band a GMA Dove Award for 'Modern Rock Album of the Year.' The album also produced two hits on Christian radio: “Everything About You” peaked at #1 on R&R's Christian Rock Singles Chart, and remained there for six consecutive weeks. The band embarked on another tour in support of the album with Hawk Nelson, Seven Places and Ever Stays Red. The band's third album, “The Face of Love,” emerged in 2006 and spawned the hit, “I'm Not Alright,” which garnered the band a GMA Dove Award nomination in 2007. Sanctus Real's fourth studio album, “We Need Each Other” appeared in 2008 and earned the band a Grammy Award nomination and spawned the single “We Need Each Other,” which remained in the #1 position on the R&R's Christian Rock Singles Chart for five consecutive weeks. After almost two more years of extensive touring, “Pieces of a Real Heart” arrived in 2010 and received a Grammy Award nomination. Sanctus Real's sixth studio album, “Run,” arrived in 2013.