Related Artists


Diamond Rio

Keith Urban

Jake Owen

Martina McBride

Darius Rucker

Montgomery Gentry

Chris Young

Brad Paisley

Tracy Byrd

Rascal Flatts Biography

Home > Music > R > Rascal Flatts > Biography

Birth Place: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Years Active: 2000–present
Genres: Country, Country Pop

Rascal Flatts is an American band that originated in Columbus, Ohio. Since its inception, Rascal Flatts has been composed of three members: Gary LeVox (lead vocals) and Jay DeMarcus (bass guitar, keyboard, piano, vocals), and Joe Don Rooney (lead guitar, vocals). LeVox and DeMarcus are second cousins.

In early 2000, the group made its debut with the single "Prayin' for Daylight," a song that had been on the three-song demo that had got the band signed. The song, which reached #3 on the Billboard country chart, was the first single from their self-titled debut, which was issued in early 2000 on Lyric Street. Following "Prayin' for Daylight," the album's other three singles all made the Top 10 on that chart, including "This Everyday Love," "While You Loved Me" and "I'm Movin' On," which was awarded Song of the Year by the Academy of Country Music in 2002.

“Melt,” their second album, was released in 2002. Unlike their previous album, Rascal Flatts co-produced “Melt.” Its first single, "These Days," became their first #1 single on the country chart. The album included two more Top 10 hits, "Love You Out Loud" and "I Melt," and the band's second #1 single, "Mayberry."

Rascal Flatts' third album “Feels Like Today,” was released in late 2004. The album's title track was its first single, followed by "Bless the Broken Road." In early 2005, “Bless the Broken Road” spent five weeks at #1. After that, "Fast Cars and Freedom" also went to #1. While this song was climbing the charts, some radio stations began playing a hidden track on the album, titled "Skin." This unsolicited airplay caused "Skin" to enter the Top 40, and after "Fast Cars and Freedom" peaked, it was released as a single under the title "Skin (Sarabeth)" and officially added to the album's track list. “Feels Like Today,” was later certified 5× platinum by the RIAA.

Rascal Flatts' thirteenth chart entry, "What Hurts the Most," was released in December 2005. This song, which had previously been recorded by Mark Wills in 2003, was the first single from their fourth album, 2006's “Me and My Gang.” For this album, the band worked with producer Dann Huff. "What Hurts the Most" was a crossover hit, reaching #1 on the country and adult contemporary charts, as well as the Top 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. Later, the album's title track charted in the Top 10, and both "My Wish" and "Stand" made #1.

Also in 2006, the group charted in the Top 10 of the Hot 100 with a cover of Tom Cochrane's "Life Is a Highway," which they recorded for the Pixar film “Cars.” Although "Life Is a Highway" was not released to country radio, several country stations began playing the song, causing it to chart within the Top 20 of the Hot Country Songs chart.

Their album, “Me and My Gang” had the highest US debut of 2006. The album spent 15 weeks as the #1 album on the Billboard Country chart and was the second-best selling album of 2006.

In 2007 the group released the single "Take Me There," a song which Kenny Chesney co-wrote and had initially planned to record. It became a #1 country hit and was the first single from their album “Still Feels Good.” It was followed by "Winner at a Losing Game," the first single which the band wrote itself. Both it and its followup "Every Day" peaked at #2 on the country chart. The fourth single from “Still Feels Good,” "Bob That Head," became the band's first single to miss the Top 10 at country radio. The album's fifth and final single, "Here," was released in August 2008 and became their ninth #1 hit.

Rascal Flatts released their first Greatest Hits album, “Greatest Hits Volume 1” in October 2008. The album contains 13 of their biggest songs, starting with "Prayin' for Daylight" and going through "Life Is a Highway." The limited edition of the album contains a second disc with three Christmas songs, "White Christmas," "Jingle Bell Rock" and "I'll Be Home for Christmas." A year later in October 2009, they released a second edition of their greatest hits collection, this time with a second disc containing live performances of "Take Me There," "Summer Nights," "Me & My Gang" and "Winner at a Losing Game."

Rascal Flatts released the first single "Here Comes Goodbye" from their album, “Unstoppable,” to radio in January 2009, and the album was released in April. The song was co-written by American Idol season 6 finalist Chris Sligh. The second single, "Summer Nights," co-written by Gary LeVox, was released in early May 2009 debuting at #57 and peaking at #2 on the country chart. The third single off the album, "Why," peaked at #18 on the country charts. The band released their fourth single from the album, the title track, "Unstoppable," in January 2010.

After Lyric Street closed in 2010, Rascal Flatts moved to the independent Big Machine Records, releasing “Nothing Like This” in November 2010. The group's first release for the label was "Why Wait” which became the trio's eleventh #1 single on the country music charts. The album debuted at #6 on the Billboard 200 and #1 on the Top Country Albums charts.