Related Artists

Iggy and The Stooges



Elliott Smith


Monster Magnet


Sex Pistols

Bad Brains


Iggy Pop Albums

Home > Music > P > Pop, Iggy > Albums

''New Values'' was Iggy Pop's third solo studio album and his first since the Stooges' ''Raw Power'' without any involvement from David Bowie. Released in 1979, it was Pop's first record for Arista and the first collaboration by Pop and James Williamson since ''Kill City''. The album also reunited Pop and Williamson with multi-instrumentalist Scott Thurston, who had played live piano for The Stooges (1973-4) and also played on the Pop/WIlliamson album Kill City. Although guitar was played by Williamson on "Don't Look Down", Scott Thurston played guitar on all other tracks, with Williamson concentrating on production. Likewise, although one of the songs was written by Pop and Williamson, five tracks were collaborations between Pop and Thurston.

Although well received critically and now regarded as one of Pop's best solo efforts, the album was not a commercial success, only reaching number 180 in the ''Billboard'' Top 200 album chart. Videos were made for "I'm Bored" and "Five Foot One". David Bowie later covered the ''New Values'' track "Don't Look Down" on his album ''Tonight'' (1984) and used it for the opening and closing titles of his short film ''Jazzin' for Blue Jean''.

New Values
Release Date: 2000-07-11
Duration: 44:33

Buy AlbumPrice: $9.99

Prev Album
Next Album
Song Title Time Play Price Download
1Tell Me A Story 02:47
$0.99 Buy Song
2New Values 02:40
$0.99 Buy Song
3Girls 02:57
$0.99 Buy Song
4I'm Bored 02:45
$0.99 Buy Song
5Don't Look Down 03:35
$0.99 Buy Song
6The Endless Sea 04:47
$0.99 Buy Song
7Five Foot One 04:28
$0.99 Buy Song
8How Do Ya Fix A Broken Part 02:52
$0.99 Buy Song
9Angel 03:41
$0.99 Buy Song
10Curiosity 02:26
$0.99 Buy Song
11African Man 03:33
$0.99 Buy Song
12Billy Is A Runaway 02:26
$0.99 Buy Song
13Chains 02:44
$0.99 Buy Song
14Pretty Flamingo 02:52
$0.99 Buy Song
Album - New Values $9.99 Buy Album