Related Artists

We The Kings

My Chemical Romance

All Time Low

Boys Like Girls

The Killers

Finger Eleven


Counting Crows

Jason Mraz

Metro Station

Plain White T's Biography

Home > Music > P > Plain White T's > Biography

Birth Place: Villa Park, Illinois, US
Years Active: 1997–present
Genres: Pop, Pop Punk, Pop Rock, Alternative Rock

Plain White T's is a pop punk outfit formed in Lombard, Illinois USA, in 1997. Vocalist and guitarist Tom Higgenson and bass player Ken Fletcher had been in a band together when they decided to move on and asked friend Dave Tirio to play drums for a power-pop trio. Higgenson was originally interested with the drums, having served as the percussionist for various rock bands during high school. One such band was Harvey's Daughter, whose lineup also featured bass player Ken Fletcher. Although the group ultimately disbanded, the two remained friends and quickly launched an additional band, with Higgenson taking over lead duties as songwriter and singer. Drummer Dave Tirio and guitarist Steve Mast subsequently joined the new lineup, bringing Plain White T's to fruition during the fall of 1997.

In 2000 the band self-released their debut album, “Come on Over.” Several songs from “Come on Over” were featured on the MTV show Undressed. Mast then was replaced by guitarist Tim G. Lopez.

Their second album, “Stop” was first released on So Happy Publishing in 2001, and re-released twice, first in 2002 by Fearless Records, and again in 2007 with three bonus tracks. Fletcher left the band in 2005 and was replaced by bassist Mike Retondo.

“All That We Needed” followed in 2005, again on Fearless Records. This album featured the first release of their hit single, “Hey There Delilah.” In June 2007, over two years after the song's release, it became the band's first hit in the United States, eventually reaching #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart in July. From July 3, 2007 through July 28, the song was the most played song on the radio. It was the first #1 single for the Plain White T's and it also reached #2 in the U.K.

Their fourth LP, “Every Second Counts” was released in 2006. The album peaked at #10 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and was certified gold by the RIAA. “Every Second Counts” also peaked at #3 on the U.K. Top 75 Albums chart. After the popularity of “Hey There Delilah” in 2007, subsequent printings of “Every Second Counts” featured the single as a bonus track.

Their 2008 album, “Big Bad World” peaked at #33 on the Billboard 200 while also reaching #14 on the Rock Albums chart and #19 on the Alternative Albums chart. The single "Natural Disaster" is featured as downloadable content for the Rock Band videogame series.

“Wonders of the Younger,” their sixth studio album, was released in 2010 and peaked at #149 on the Billboard 200. The first single was "Rhythm of Love" featuring lead singer Higgenson on harmony vocals only, with Lopez taking the lead vocal duties.