Related Artists

Brother Ali

Aesop Rock



MF Doom

Sage Francis

Jedi Mind Tricks

Big L


Dilated Peoples

P.O.S. Biography

Home > Music > P > P.O.S. > Biography

Genres: Jazz, Rap/Hip Hop

Stefon Alexander, better known by his stage name P.O.S., is an underground hip-hop artist from Minneapolis, Minnesota. He is a founding member of the indie hip-hop collective Doomtree and is currently signed to Rhymesayers Entertainment. He has also fronted a number of punk rock bands and is currently serving as guitarist and vocalist for Building Better Bombs, as well as vocalist and keyboardist for Marijuana Deathsquads. He is currently also a member of Minneapolis indie supergroup Gayngs. The band also features members of Bon Iver, The Rosebuds and Solid Gold. Their first album, “Relayted,” was released on Jagjaguwar in 2010.

In 2001, P.O.S., rapper Syst and DJ Anomaly formed a short-lived hip-hop group Cenospecies. They released one album “Indefinition” in 2002 before breaking up. His 2002 debut EP, “Falsehopes” with Cecil Otter, and first solo album, 2004’s “Ipecac Neat” were originally released exclusively through Doomtree. The album caught the attention of Rhymesayers Entertainment who, in 2004, signed him and re-released “Ipecac Neat.” Since that point, his albums have been jointly released by both Doomtree and Rhymesayers.

In 2006, P.O.S.'s second album, “Audition,” was released, raising his profile nationally. Since then, he has mainly focused on Doomtree projects. In 2007, the whole collective released a collaborative album “False Hopes.” In 2008, they released the collective’s first official album “Doomtree.”

In 2009, P.O.S. released his third album, “Never Better.” The album came with a unique form of artwork. The liner notes, which include six transparent slides, can be rearranged to put the listener's own personal touch on the cover and backing art.

His fourth album, “We Don't Even Live Here,” was released in 2012. The track “Get Down” featured a guest appearance from Mike Mictlan of Doomtree and “Fuck Your Stuff” was produced by Lazerbeak of the collective.