Related Artists

Green Day



Bad Religion


Dropkick Murphys


Rise Against


Puddle Of Mudd

Offspring Biography

Home > Music > O > Offspring > Biography

Birth Place: Huntington Beach, California, United States
Years Active: 1984–present
Genres: Punk Rock, Pop Punk, Skate Punk, Alternative Rock

The Offspring is an American punk rock band formed in Huntington Beach, California in 1984. Since its formation, the band's line-up has included Dexter Holland (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Noodles (lead and rhythm guitars, backing vocals), and Greg K. (bass, backing vocals). In 1987, Ron Welty replaced James Lilja as the drummer for The Offspring, completing the band's most successful lineup that would last for 16 years. Their current drummer Pete Parada, formerly of Face to Face and Saves the Day, joined the band in 2007, after Atom Willard decided to leave to focus on Angels & Airwaves.

The Offspring were formed in 1984 under the name Manic Subsidal by singer/guitarist Dexter Holland and bassist Greg K., who later recruited Noodles as their guitarist. After Manic Subsidal changed its name to The Offspring in 1986, drummer Ron Welty joined in 1987, and the band recorded a demo a year later.

The Offspring signed a record deal with the short-lived label Nemesis Records, and released their first album, “The Offspring,” in 1989 on vinyl-only.

Two years later, after the release of the “Baghdad” EP, the band signed to Epitaph Records, who released their second album, “Ignition,” in 1992.

In 1994, The Offspring released “Smash.” The critically acclaimed album, also the band's most successful, debuted at #4 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and produced three hit singles in “Come Out and Play,” “Self Esteem” and “Gotta Get Away.” The album was certified 6x platinum and became Epitaph's best-selling album of all time.

After the release of the “Smash” album, The Offspring parted ways with Epitaph and signed a record deal with Columbia Records. 1997 saw the release of their major-label debut, “Ixnay on the Hombre.” Although not as successful as “Smash,” “Ixnay” sold over 5 million copies.

In the following year, the band released their next album, “Americana,” which debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200, and produced two of their biggest hits, “Pretty Fly (for a White Guy)” and “Why Don't You Get a Job?,” and making the album the peak of The Offspring's mainstream popularity.

2000 saw the band release their sixth album, “Conspiracy of One.” The band intended to release the entire album online through their official website, to show their support for downloading music on the internet. However, under threat of legal action by Columbia through their parent company Sony, only the first single “Original Prankster” was released on their official website.

While working on a follow-up to “Conspiracy of One,” longtime drummer Ron Welty left the band in early 2003 to concentrate on his new project Steady Ground. Soon after, the band released their next album “Splinter.” Uncomfortable with the idea of finding an immediate replacement for Welty, The Offspring opted to have session musician Josh Freese to record the drums for “Splinter,” and later announced that Atom Willard would be the official replacement for Ron Welty.

2005 saw the release of the band's first compilation album, “Greatest Hits.” It contained 13 of the band's hits between “Smash” and” Splinter,” and two previously never released songs “Can't Repeat” and a cover of The Police’s “Next to You.”

After the “Greatest Hits” tour, The Offspring took an extended hiatus and Willard left the band in July 2007 to concentrate on his current project Angels & Airwaves. He was replaced by former Face to Face drummer Pete Parada.

The band's album, “Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace,” was released in 2008, but Parada did not record it due to contract issues. The band tapped Freese again to record the drum tracks.

To date, The Offspring has sold over 45 million copies worldwide.