Related Artists

Animal Collective

Cut Copy

Hot Chip

The Decemberists

The Flaming Lips

Fleet Foxes

Local Natives

Iron & Wine

Architecture In Helsinki

Dr. Dog

Of Montreal Biography

Home > Music > O > Of Montreal > Biography

Birth Place: Athens, Georgia, United States
Years Active: 1996–present
Genres: Baroque Pop, Indie Pop, Indie Rock, Neo-psychedelia, Psychedelic Pop

Of Montreal (styled as of Montreal) is an indie pop/rock band from Athens, Georgia. It was founded by frontman Kevin Barnes in 1996, named after a failed romance with a woman "of Montreal." The band is one of the founding bands of the Elephant 6 collective.

Their debut album “Cherry Peel” was released in 1997. In 1999 it was reissued with additional musical contributions and the songs remixed.

“The Bird Who Ate the Rabbit's Flower” (1997) EP and “The Bedside Drama: A Petite Tragedy” (1998) album followed. The band then went through a series of lineup changes.

Prior to the release of their album “The Gay Parade” in 1999, Of Montreal released a number of singles and a re-release of “The Bird Who Continues to Eat the Rabbit's Flower.”

In 2001, the concept album “Coquelicot Asleep in the Poppies: A Variety of Whimsical Verse” was released. In 2002, “Aldhils Arboretum” was released, with a slightly different sound than its predecessors, as the songs were more directly structured.

“Satanic Panic in the Attic” was released in 2004. The album, like later albums “The Sunlandic Twins”(2005) and “Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?” (2007), was made almost entirely by Barnes. “Hissing” reached #2 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart.

Of Montreal's next album, “Skeletal Lamping,” was released on October 21, 2008. It was released in ten different formats, including conventional CD and vinyl, as well as t-shirts, button sets, wall decals, tote bags, and a paper lantern, the latter formats complete with a digital download code for the album. “Skeletal Lamping” reached #3 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart and #38 on the Billboard 200 chart.

Their tenth studio album “False Priest” was released in 2010 featuring appearances by Janelle Monáe and Solange Knowles. The album reached #3 on the Billboard Top Independent Albums chart and #34 on the Billboard 200 chart.