Related Artists


The Strokes

Vampire Weekend

Franz Ferdinand

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Jimmy Eat World

Matt and Kim


Modest Mouse


OK Go Biography

Home > Music > O > OK Go > Biography

Birth Place: Chicago, Illinois, United States, Washington, D.C., United States
Years Active: 1998–present
Genres: Alternative, Power Pop, Dance

OK Go is a rock band originally from Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. The band is composed of Damian Kulash (lead vocals and guitar), Tim Nordwind (bass guitar and vocals), Dan Konopka (drums and percussion) and Andy Ross (guitar, keyboards and vocals), who joined them in 2005, replacing Andy Duncan. They are perhaps best known for their often elaborate and quirky music videos.

The band released its self-titled debut album in 2002. The album peaked at #107 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. The album’s lead single, "Get Over It" was featured in several video games. The band contributed a cover of the Zombies "This Will Be Our Year" as the lead track of “Future Soundtrack for America,” a political benefit album put out by Barsuk Records in the fall of 2004.

The band's second album, “Oh No,” was recorded in Malmö, Sweden in the fall of 2004. After recording, in 2005, Andy Duncan left the band and was replaced by Andy Ross. The album was released in August 2005 and reached #69 on the Billboard 200 while also reaching #25 on the Billboard Rock Albums chart. “Oh No,” gained in popularity from its first single, "A Million Ways." The video featured the band in their back yard performing a dance choreographed by lead singer Kulash's sister, Trish Sie. By August 2006, the video had become the most downloaded music video ever with over 9 million downloads. The band released a video for "Here It Goes Again" featuring an elaborately choreographed dance on treadmills, also directed and choreographed by Trish Sie. This video was viewed by over one million people on the media site YouTube in the first six days. The original video upload for "Here It Goes Again" has been viewed over 50 million times. "Here It Goes Again" peaked at #38 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart, the band’s only entry on the chart to date. OK Go and Trish Sie took home a Grammy Award for Best Short-Form Music Video for their music video "Here It Goes Again."

After visiting New Orleans in 2006, the band recorded an EP with New Orleans funk rock band Bonerama, to raise money for musicians who were still displaced by the 2005 Hurricane Katrina. The EP, entitled “You're Not Alone,” was released on February 5, 2008.

Their third album, “Of the Blue Colour of the Sky” was released in 2010 on Capitol Records, and re-released on the band's independent label Paracadute Records. The album peaked at #40 on the Billboard 200, #7 on the Rock Albums chart and #5 on the Alternative Albums chart.