No Angels Biography

Home > Music > N > No Angels > Biography

Birth Place: Germany
Years Active: 2000—2003, 2007—present
Genres: Pop, Europop, Electropop, Teen Pop

The No Angels are an all-female pop trio from Germany, consisting of band members Lucy Diakovska, Sandy Mölling, and Jessica Wahls. Critically acclaimed, the band has won dozen of awards and prizes since their establishment in the early 2000s, including three ECHOs, a World Music Awards, a NRJ Music Award, two Comets, a Bambi and a Goldene Kamera.

Originally a quintet, the group originated in 2000 on the international television talent show ''Popstars'' and was one of the first television-casted acts to enjoy attention throughout Central Europe in the early 2000s. Following a major success with record-breaking single "Daylight in Your Eyes" and debut album ''Elle'ments'' in 2001, a series of hit records established their position as one of the most successful female band vocalists to emerge in the early decade. They have since been ranked as both the "biggest-selling German girlband to date" and "most successful girlband in Contintental Europe" by the media, with four number-one hits, three number-one albums and record sales in excess of more than 5.0 million. In fall 2003, the members went their separate ways due to lasting exhaustion, focusing on their individual solo careers in music, theatre, television and film.

In 2007, it was confirmed that four members of the original line-up, excluding original band member Vanessa Petruo, had reformed permanently and were set to record their first studio album in over four years, ''Destiny'' (2007). A year after, the group represented Germany with their single "Disappear" at the Eurovision Song Contest 2008, where they finished 23rd in the final voting. After another musical hiatus, the band released a second post-reunion studio album entitled ''Welcome to the Dance'' in 2009. In September 2010, Nadja Benaissa officially left the band to due to private reasons, leaving the No Angels as a trio.