Related Artists


Queens Of The Stone Age

Stabbing Westward




Crystal Method

Mad Season


The Prodigy

Nine Inch Nails Biography

Home > Music > N > Nine Inch Nails > Biography

Birth Place: Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Years Active: 1988–present
Genres: Industrial Rock, Alternative Rock, Industrial Metal

Nine Inch Nails is an American industrial rock project, founded in 1988 by Trent Reznor in Cleveland, Ohio. As its main producer, singer, songwriter, and instrumentalist, Reznor is the only official member of Nine Inch Nails and remains solely responsible for its direction. NIN's music straddles a wide range of genres, while retaining a characteristic sound using electronic instruments and processing. After recording a new album, Reznor usually assembles a live band to perform with him. The touring band features a revolving lineup that often rearranges songs to fit a live setting. On stage, NIN often employs visual elements to accompany performances, which frequently include light shows.

Nine Inch Nails debut album “Pretty Hate Machine” was released in 1989. The album was a critical and commercial success, receiving radio airplay for the singles "Down in It", "Head Like a Hole" and "Sin". The songs "Terrible Lie" and "Something I Can Never Have" also received moderate airplay along with the three lead singles. After spending 113 weeks on the Billboard 200, peaking at #7, “Pretty Hate Machine” became one of the first independently released records to attain platinum certification.

In 1992 Nine Inch Nails released “Broken,” an EP featuring six songs and two bonus tracks. The single “Wish” won a Grammy for Best Metal Performance.

1994’s “The Downward Spiral” debuted at number two on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart. To date, “The Downward Spiral” has sold over four million copies. The album’s second single “Closer” became Nine Inch Nails' biggest hit up to that time charting on several Billboard magazine music charts: #41 Billboard Hot 100, #35 Mainstream Rock, #11 Modern Rock Tracks, #29 Dance Music/Club Play Singles, and #29 Hot Dance Music/Maxi-Singles Sales.

“The Fragile,” released in 1999 peaked at number 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. The first single, "The Day the World Went Away", was released two months before the album. "Into the Void" and "We're in This Together" proved to be the album's most successful singles. On January 4, 2000, the album was certified double platinum in sales by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA), following sales in excess of two million copies in the United States.

Six years elapsed before the release of “With Teeth” in 2005 which became an immediate commercial success, debuting at number 1 on the Billboard 200 and selling more than 272,000 copies in its first week. The album generated three singles: "The Hand That Feeds", "Only", and "Every Day Is Exactly the Same", which all became number-one singles on Billboard's Hot Modern Rock Tracks chart.

Upon its release in April 2007, “Year Zero” sold over 187,000 units in its first week, and it reached number two on the Billboard 200 chart. “Year Zero” produced two singles, "Survivalism" and "Capital G", the latter released as a promotional single.

In February 2008, Reznor posted a news update on the Nine Inch Nails website entitled "2 weeks." On March 2, “Ghosts I–IV,” a 36-track instrumental album, became available via the band's official website. “Ghosts I–IV” was made available in a number of different formats and forms, ranging from a free download of the first volume, to a $300 Ultra-Deluxe limited edition package. The album is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike license.

On May 5 2008, Nine Inch Nails released “The Slip” via their website without any advertisement or promotion. The album was made available for download free of charge, protected under the same Creative Commons license as “Ghosts,” and has seen individual downloads surpassing 1.4 million.