Related Artists

The National

Local Natives

The Mountain Goats

Broken Social Scene


Mates of State

Cold War Kids

Guided By Voices

Neko Case

The Shins

The New Pornographers Biography

Home > Music > N > New Pornographers, The > Biography

Birth Place: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Years Active: 1997-present
Genres: Indie Rock, Power Pop

The New Pornographers is a Canadian indie rock band formed in 1999 in Vancouver, British Columbia. The name of the band was chosen by band leader and founder Carl Newman, who has said that he came up with it after watching a Japanese film called The Pornographers. Other members of the band, many of whom were prominent within the Vancouver music scene prior to forming The New Pornographers, include Neko Case, Dan Bejar and John Collins of Destroyer, Kathryn Calder of Immaculate Machine, Todd Fancey and Kurt Dahle of Limblifter and independent filmmaker Blaine Thurier.

Their debut album, “Mass Romantic,” was issued by Mint Records in 2000. It was produced by David Carswell and band bassist John Collins and recorded over the course of three years. “Electric Version,” their second album, was released Matador Records and Mint Records in 2003.

“Twin Cinema,” their third LP, was released via Mint/Matador in 2005. The album was shortlisted for the 2006 Polaris Music Prize and reached #44 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. Matador then released their next album, “Challengers,” in 2007. It debuted at #34 on the Billboard 200 and was produced by Newman, Collins and Phil Palazzolo.

The New Pornographers fifth album, “Together,” was released via Matador in 2010. It reached #18 on the Billboard 200 and featured guest appearances by Zach Condon of Beirut, Annie Clark of St. Vincent, Will Sheff of Okkervil River, and the horn players from Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings.