Related Artists

New Found Glory

Bad Religion

Less Than Jake

Project 86






Sum 41

MxPx Biography

Home > Music > M > MxPx > Biography

Birth Place: Bremerton, Washington, United States
Years Active: 1992-present
Genres: Skate Punk, Pop Punk, Hardcore Punk

MxPx is a pop punk band from Bremerton, Washington with connections to the Christian punk scene. The members of the band, Mike Herrera (vocals, bass), Tom Wisniewski (guitar, background vocals) and Yuri Ruley (drums, background vocals), are Christians, and this is reflected in some of the band's songs. However, they prefer not to be called a Christian band.

MxPx caught the attention of Tooth & Nail Records when they played a showcase for the label in 1993. Their first album, 1994’s “Pokinatcha,” was released while the band members were still in high school. MxPx released two further albums with Tooth & Nail, 1995’s “Teenage Politics” and “Life in General” in 1996.

MxPx then signed to A&M Records which re-releases “Life In General.” MxPx then released two more studio albums jointly distributed by Tooth & Nail and A&M, “Slowly Going the Way of the Buffalo” in 1998, and “The Ever Passing Moment” in 2000. “Slowly Going the Way of the Buffalo” would be last album to incorporate hardcore punk for some years and with the release of “The Ever Passing Moment,” the band used frequent pop punk styles. By this time, MxPx had fulfilled their contract obligations with Tooth & Nail and decided to part ways.

“Before Everything & After” in 2003 was released exclusively by A&M, and marked a radical departure from their old sound. In 2005 MxPx was dropped by A&M, signed with SideOneDummy Records, and released their seventh full-length album “Panic.”

They returned to Tooth & Nail in 2007 and released the album, “Secret Weapon” that year. Tooth & Nail issued their album, “Plans Within Plans,” in 2012.