Related Artists

Ill Niño






Coal Chamber

Corrosion Of Conformity

In Flames

Lacuna Coil

Mushroomhead Biography

Home > Music > M > Mushroomhead > Biography

Birth Place: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Years Active: 1993-present
Genres: Alternative Metal, Industrial Metal, Shock Rock

Mushroomhead is an American industrial metal band from Cleveland, Ohio. Formed in 1993 in Cleveland Warehouse District, the band's music can be described as a synthesis of alternative music, heavy metal, and electro-industrial.

In 1995, Mushroomhead released a self-financed debut album “Mushroomhead,” on their record label, Filthy Hands Co. (also named Mushroom Co.). Although the line-up saw many changes throughout the 1990s, the band stayed active, steadily releasing music and gaining followers.

In 1996 they released “Superbuick.” In 1999, Mushroomhead released “M3,” which was the final album self-financed and self-released by the band.

In 2001 Mushroomhead released a compilation album titled “XX” on the independent label Eclipse Records. Later in the year, the band signed with major label Universal Records and the compilation was remastered and re-released internationally. The release of the album led Mushroomhead to major national and international tours including Ozzfest 2002.

2003 saw the release of “XIII,” their first album of new material for Universal Records. The album produced the single “Sun Doesn't Rise” which was featured on the “Freddy vs Jason soundtrack.” The album also featured a hidden track, “Crazy,” a song originally performed by Seal. The album debuted at #40 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart.

While on the road in 2005, Mushroomhead began the process of writing new material and recording a new album. In December 2005, Mushroomhead signed with Megaforce Records, ensuring the new albums availability nationally and internationally.

“Savior Sorrow” was released in 2006, and debuted at #45 on the Billboard 200 chart. “Simple Survival,” the pre-released single to “Savior Sorrow,” peaked at #39 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

They released “Beautiful Stories for Ugly Children” in September 2010. Their song, “Your Soul Is Mine,” appeared on the “Saw VI Soundtrack.”

On October 28, 2010, the band's founding guitarist, JJ Righteous, passed away of unknown reasons at the age of 41.