Related Artists

Brand New

Say Anything

The Starting Line

Alkaline Trio

Taking Back Sunday


Saves The Day

Something Corporate

Dashboard Confessional

The Used

Motion City Soundtrack Biography

Home > Music > M > Motion City Soundtrack > Biography

Birth Place: Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.
Years Active: 1997–present
Genres: Indie Rock, Pop Punk, Pop Rock, Power Pop

Motion City Soundtrack is an American rock band from Minneapolis, Minnesota, formed in 1997. The band consists of founding members Justin Pierre (lead vocals and guitar) and Joshua Cain (lead guitar and backing vocals), along with keyboardist and moog synthesist Jesse Johnson, bassist and backing vocalist Matthew Taylor, and drummer, percussionist and backing vocalist Tony Thaxton.

Their first release was a self-recorded and released seven-inch single, titled "Promenade / Carolina." They used the aide of minor record label Modern Radio, for the releases of their first two EPs, “Kids for America” and “Back to the Beat,” which were both released in 2000.

After self-releasing their debut album “I Am the Movie” twice, Motion City Soundtrack was signed by Epitaph Records in 2003. The album was re-issued a third time by Epitaph, in which it was remastered and had four additional tracks.

Within the next two years the band released three split EP collaborations with other bands. These included a “Schatzi Split” on Doghouse Records in 2003, a “Limbeck Split” on Vinyl Nerd Records in 2004, and a “Matchbook Romance Split” on Epitaph in 2004.

The band returned with its second studio album in 2005, “Commit This to Memory,” which peaked at #72 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart, and went on to sell over 250,000 units. In June 2006, they re-issued a deluxe edition of their second album, it contained an additional track along with three hours of DVD footage.

Their third album was released through Epitaph in 2007, titled “Even if It Kills Me.” The album debuted at #16 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #1 on the Independent Albums chart.