Related Artists




38 Special


Black Oak Arkansas

The Allman Brothers Band

Bad Company

Jethro Tull

Humble Pie

Molly Hatchet Biography

Home > Music > M > Molly Hatchet > Biography

Birth Place: Jacksonville, Florida, US
Years Active: 1975–present
Genres: Southern Rock, Boogie Rock, Hard Rock, Southern Metal, Jam Rock

Molly Hatchet is a Southern rock band formed in Jacksonville, Florida in 1975 , known primarily for their hit song "Flirtin' with Disaster" from the album of the same title. The band, founded by guitarists Dave Hlubek and Steve Holland took its name from a legendary axe murderer named Hatchet Molly. The original group included late vocalist Danny Joe Brown, additional guitarist Duane Roland, bassist Banner Thomas, and drummer Bruce Crump.

In 1978 the band recorded and released its first album eponymously titled "Molly Hatchet". Then in 1979, "Flirtin' with Disaster" was released.

In 1980 Brown left the group to form The Danny Joe Brown Band (with future Molly Hatchet guitarist Bobby Ingram) and was replaced by vocalist Jimmy Farrar. After the release of "Beatin, the Odds" in 1980 and "Take No Prisoners" in 1981 Farrar left.

Brown rejoined the band in 1982 and Banner Thomas left and was replaced by Riff West. In 1983, a new album was released titled "No Guts... No Glory". Steve Holland left and was replaced by keyboardist John Galvin.

In 1984 came the release of a new album "The Deed Is Done". In 1985 Dave Hlubek left and he was replaced by Bobby Ingram. Then in 1985, the double live album "Double Trouble Live" was released.

The band continued to tour regularly, and then in 1989 the album "Lightning Strikes Twice" was released.