Related Artists

L.A. Guns

Def Leppard


Night Ranger

Huey Lewis & The News


Sammy Hagar

Thin Lizzy

Eddie Money

Cheap Trick

Loverboy band Biography

Home > Music > L > Loverboy band > Biography

Birth Place: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Years Active: 1980-1988, 1989, 1991 - Present
Genres: Rock, Hard Rock

Loverboy is a Canadian rock group formed in 1980 in Calgary, Alberta. Throughout the 1980s, the band accumulated numerous hit songs in Canada and the United States, earning four multi-platinum albums and selling millions of records.

After being rejected by many American record labels they signed with Columbia/CBS Records Canada and began recording their first album in 1980 with Mike Reno on lead vocals, Paul Dean as the guitarist, Scott Smith as the bassist, Doug Johnson on keyboards and Matt Frenette on drums. Loverboy went into the studio with producer Bruce Fairbairn and engineer Bob Rock to record what would be their self-titled debut album.The album made its American debut in November 1980, and would go on to sell two million copies.

The band's follow-up album, “Get Lucky,” released in 1981 when they were opening for Journey, included the hit tracks “Working for the Weekend” and “When It's Over.” It became their best selling album in the U.S., reaching #7 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and selling over four million copies. In the same year Loverboy received sixJuno Awards (Canada's highest award for music) in one year, a record that still stands today. The band would later receive an additional three Juno Awards, bringing their total to nine, which is the most received by a single group or individual.

Loverboy released their third album, “Keep It Up,” in 1983. Its first single “Hot Girls in Love” became their most successful to date, reaching #11 on the U.S. charts. In 1984 Loverboy recorded the United States Team theme for the 1984 Summer Olympics, “Nothing's Gonna Stop You Now.” Also in 1984 Loverboy recorded a song called “Destruction” which appeared on the 1984 soundtrack of a re-edited version of the 1927 film “Metropolis.”

“Lovin' Every Minute of It,” the band's fourth album was released in 1985, with the title single written by Mutt Lange and “This Could Be The Night” co-written by Journey's Jonathan Cain becoming their first U.S. Billboard Top 10 hits. In 1986 the band recorded “Heaven In Your Eyes,” a song featured in the movie “Top Gun,” which peaked at #12 on the Billboard charts.

The 1987 release of “Wildside” followed. While the band scored a minor hit with “Notorious,” co-written by Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora, the album sold relatively poorly and the band broke up in 1988 due to the departure of Johnson and creative and personal differences between Dean and Reno.

A greatest-hits album, “Big Ones,” was released in 1989 to fulfill Loverboy's obligation to Columbia Records. The group briefly reunited in late 1989 to tour to promote it (with Geraldo Valentino Dominelli on keyboards in Johnson's place) but broke up again at the tour's conclusion.

In 1991, the band re-united to join fellow rockers Bryan Adams and Bon Jovi to help raise money for a friend and fellow recording artist Brian MacLeod of Chilliwack who was fighting cancer. The band went on another live touring spree in Canada the following year before launching a 64-concert tour in the United States in 1993. The band's record label released their second and third compilation albums, “Loverboy Classics” and “Temperature's Rising,” in 1994.

Following the releases of “Six” and “Super Hits” in 1997, the band continued touring and Johnson rejoined the band in 2000. The band went on to release their first live album, “Live, Loud and Loose” in 2001, which consisted of refurbished early live concert recordings from the band's intense touring years from 1982 to 1986.

Their studio album, “Just Getting Started,” was issued in 2007 and during the 2009 Juno Awards the band was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.